There are plenty of reasons to buy a gun in Oregon, as owning a firearm ensures you can protect your family in the case of an emergency. Your rights as a gun owner are generally preserved in the state, although there are some regulations you’ll want to learn before buying a firearm.
You won’t need a license to acquire a firearm in Oregon, although background checks are necessary for all sales, and the Oregon State Police keeps a record of these transactions. Open carry is permitted throughout the state too, but cities and counties can enact local laws. It’s worth noting that Multnomah County, Beaverton, Salem, Independence, Oregon City, and Tigard prohibit open carry.
It’s legal to carry a concealed weapon in those areas and most other places in the state with an Oregon Concealed Handgun License (CHL). This guide will take you through the process of legally buying a gun in Oregon.
How to Apply for a CHL in Oregon
The Concealed Handgun License (CHL) is your first requirement if you want to carry a concealed weapon anywhere in Oregon. The process to get one involves multiple steps, and it’s advisable to ensure you aren’t prohibited from carrying a firearm before you begin. The steps include:
Completing a Training Course
You can only apply for a CHL in Oregon after completing a state-approved training course. This course is available through law enforcement offices, private and public educational institutions, and specialized firearm training schools. You’ll have to provide proof of training with your application.
Filling Out an Application
There’s an application you’ll need to fill out through your local county sheriff’s office to take the next step in the process. You can either download the forms from the sheriff’s website or visit in person for a paper copy.
Submitting the Application
Take your completed application to the sheriff’s office and submit it. A stamped, self-addressed envelope, your training certificate, two pieces of ID, and your $100 fee must accompany your application. A representative from the sheriff’s office will also fingerprint you before accepting your documents.
Waiting for Approval
The final step is waiting for the approval of your application. The CHL will arrive in the mail using the self-addressed envelope you provided. It generally takes about 45 days to receive approval.
Getting your CHL makes it far easier to carry a weapon while living in Oregon because you don’t have to worry as much about local prohibitions. You’ll want to go through the steps before purchasing a firearm in the state to ensure your rights are protected from the second you leave the gun shop.
Steps to Buy a Gun in Oregon
You can buy a gun in Oregon from a federally licensed dealer or a private seller, and the process is pretty similar. Both methods require a background check through the Oregon Department of State Police before completing the sale. Here’s a look at how gun sales work:
1. Research Available Firearms
You can start the process by looking at what type of gun you might want to purchase. Your selection will likely come down to personal preference, but it’s best to go with a handgun if your goal is to carry a concealed weapon.
2. Visit a Licensed Dealer
The next step is heading to a federally licensed gun dealer or a private seller. You’ll have to complete the purchase through the dealer, though, because there are background check requirements, even if you’re buying a firearm privately.
3. Complete a Background Check
A background check through the Firearms Instant Check System (FICS) is mandatory for all gun purchases in Oregon. You’ll need to submit identification, fill out a form, and pay a $10 fee for the check to proceed. Most reviews only take minutes to finalize, so you shouldn’t have to wait long for approval to complete the purchase.
4. Pay for the Gun
Paying for your gun will allow the seller to finalize the transfer. A licensed dealer will accept cash, check, or credit card, while a private seller will probably ask for cash. Keep in mind that a dealer will have to process the transfer of a private sale, so the seller will likely want you to have cash in hand at that point.
5. Take the Firearm Home
You’ll have to take your gun home with you after making your purchase. You can only take your gun inside the main compartment of your vehicle if you have your CHL. The firearm must stay locked in the trunk and out of your reach if you don’t have a concealed carry permit.
6. Get Some Training
Firearm safety training is always a good idea, even if you don’t plan on applying for a CHL. Those who want to carry their guns in their vehicles or out in public, though, will need to complete a state-approved course before continuing the process.
7. Receive Your CHL
You might want to complete this step earlier, but applying for a CHL is a significant part of gun ownership in Oregon. Open carry is prohibited in many major cities, so applying for a concealed carry license is the best way to ensure you’re on the right side of the law when owning a gun in the state.
Licenses and permits aren’t a requirement for gun ownership in Oregon, but they make the process easier and protect you from many mistakes you might make when carrying a firearm. You should take these steps early to exercise your Second Amendment rights in the state without worry.
Get the Training You Need to Buy a Gun in Oregon
Receiving the necessary concealed carry training ensures you’re safe as you buy a gun in Oregon. This training is a mandatory part of your CHL application and will also provide insight into any state and local laws you’ll need to follow.
Concealed Coalition provides the training that satisfies the requirements when applying for an Oregon Concealed Handgun License. Our team of trainers will get you up to speed quickly, ensuring you’re a safe and responsible gun owner. Contact Concealed Coalition today for more information on your firearm educational needs.