ATTENTION GUN OWNERS & FUTURE GUN OWNERS: GET CONCEALED CARRY CERTIFIED BEFORE IT'S TOO LATE

Idaho Concealed Carry Reciprocity Map & Gun Laws

Become a Responsible Gun Owner in Idaho and Equip Yourself With Gun Law Knowledge and Training.

Idaho State Seal

Idaho Reciprocity Map

Idaho Concealed Carry Reciprocity Overview

1.8M

STATE POPULATION

116K

LICENSES ISSUED

6.4%

LICENSE PERCENTAGE

50

STATES HONORED

18

MINIMUM AGE TO CC

5

YEARS LICENSE VALID

39

RECIPROCATING STATES

YES

CONSTITUTIONAL CARRY

TBA

CC CERTIFIED INSTRUCTORS

Understanding Gun Laws in Idaho

Did you know your local county sheriff in Idaho may require you to demonstrate your firearm familiarity before they grant you a concealed carry permit? Understanding Idaho’s gun laws and taking part in firearm training are essential steps to becoming a responsible gun owner. But with so much information to learn, where do you even start?

Concealed Coalition is the leader in gun law education and firearm training. We provide you with the knowledge, training, and certification you need to obtain your concealed carry permit in Idaho. We have trained over one million U.S. citizens on how to carry their weapons safely, effectively, and with confidence.

Contact us via phone at (208) 228-9411 or go online for local training to get your CC license. 

Idaho Concealed Carry Training with Concealed Coalition

Summary of Idaho Gun Laws

Idaho is a shall-issue permitless carry state. Concealed weapon permits are issued locally by county sheriff.

Shall issue refers to the issuing authority county sheriff or police department being compelled to issue a permit if the applicant passes the basic requirements. Permitless carry includes constitutional carry and means no state permit is required to carry a handgun.

In Idaho, there are no requirements for permits to purchase a firearm from an individual, background checks, waiting periods, or firearm registration. When purchasing a handgun from a Federal Firearms Licensee (FFL), a background check is required. However Concealed Weapons License (CWL) holders are exempt from background checks when purchasing a firearm.

Open Carry in Idaho

Open Carry is legal without a license in Idaho for any person who is 18 years old or above who is legally allowed to possess a firearm. Elementary schools and courthouses are off-limits. 

Concealed Carry in Idaho

Conceal carry without a permit became legal in March 2020. This allows any current member of the armed forces of the United States or any U.S. citizen over 18 years old who can legally possess a firearm to lawfully carry a concealed firearm for self-defense without a license.

Concealed carry licenses require a state-approved firearms training course or experience with a firearm through participation in an organized shooting competition or military service.

Idaho offers two types of Concealed Weapons Licenses (CWL). Both require the applicant to be a minimum of 18 years old. A CWL covers concealed weapons including any dirk, dirk knife, bowie knife, dagger, pistol, revolver, or any other deadly or dangerous weapon.

For purposes of reciprocity, an enhanced CWL is available to people wishing to travel out of Idaho. Some states will only accept the enhanced version of Idaho’s license regarding reciprocity. CWLs are issued to residents and non-residents in Idaho. 

Self Defense Laws in Idaho

Idaho is a Castle Doctrine state and has a “stand your ground” law. Any law-abiding citizen is permitted to stand his or her ground and protect himself or herself or a third party anywhere he or she has a legal right to be.

Use of Force in Defense of Person

No person in Idaho state will be placed in legal jeopardy of any kind whatsoever for protecting one’s self or family by reasonable means necessary, or when coming to the aid of another whom he or she reasonably believes to be in imminent danger of or the victim of aggravated assault, robbery, rape, murder or any other heinous crime.

The defense of oneself or another does not require a person to wait until he or she ascertains whether the danger is apparent or real. A person confronted with such danger has a clear right to act upon appearances such as would influence the action of a reasonable person.

Use of Force in Defense of Place

A person using force or deadly force in defense of a habitation, place of business or employment, or occupied vehicle is presumed to have acted reasonably and had a reasonable fear of imminent peril of death or serious bodily injury if the force is used against a person whose entry or attempted entry therein is unlawful and is made or attempted by the use of force, in a violent and tumultuous manner, surreptitiously or by stealth, or for the purpose of committing a felony.

Liability

A person is released from liability when protecting himself or herself or his or her family by reasonable means necessary or when coming to the aid of another whom he or she reasonably believes to be in imminent danger of or the victim of aggravated assault, robbery, rape, murder or other heinous crime.

“Habitation” means any building, inhabitable structure or conveyance of any kind, whether the building, inhabitable structure or conveyance is temporary or permanent, mobile or immobile — including a tent — and is designed to be occupied by people lodging therein at night, including a dwelling in which a person resides either temporarily or permanently or is visiting as an invited guest, and includes the curtilage of any such dwelling.

“Place of business or employment” means a commercial enterprise or establishment owned by a person as all or part of the person’s livelihood or is under the owner’s control or under control of an employee or agent of the owner with responsibility for protecting persons and property and shall include the interior and exterior premises of the place of business or employment.

“Vehicle” means any motorized vehicle that is self-propelled and designed for use on public highways to transport people or property.

Protecting Yourself After Use of Force

How you will stand legally after using force for any reason will depend on how local Idaho authorities view the situation. You can speak with a local lawyer for details. It’s important to have knowledge of local laws via our firearms training course. A Conceal Coalition certification will provide you with everything you need to know to be a responsible gun owner in Idaho. 

Idaho Gun Laws by Statute

It’s important for all Idaho firearms owners to remember that laws can and do change. Law enforcement agencies or legislators may alter any regulations listed below at any time. Gun owners and licensees should regularly check the Idaho attorney general’s website for the latest information. 

Contact us today at (208) 228-9411 or email to discuss your concealed carry permit educational needs.

Quick Links

CONCEALED CARRY BASICS IN IDAHO

QUESTION

ANSWER

What States Have Reciprocity with Idaho?

Alabama, Arkansas, Indiana, Georgia, Mississippi, Montana, New Hampshire, North Carolina, South Dakota, and Vermont. Idaho residents can carry a concealed defensive firearm in the state of Oklahoma without a permit or license. To legally carry in Oklahoma, state ID must be carried.

Which States’ Permits Does Idaho Honor?

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, New York City, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming, and Puerto Rico.  

States That Have Restricted Reciprocity with Idaho

Idaho offers resident and non-resident permits. States with restricted reciprocity include Arizona, Alaska, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, and Wyoming. 

Does Idaho recognize constitutional carry?

Yes. U.S. citizens at least 18 years old who can legally possess a firearm and current members of the U.S. armed forces.

Is open carry permitted in Idaho?

Yes, as long as they are a minimum of 18 years old.

If Idaho requires a license to carry a concealed firearm, how are those licenses issued?

Idaho is a shall-issue state. Idaho officials issue concealed carry licenses as long as the applicant meets all qualifications.

What is the minimum age in Idaho to get a concealed carry license?

18 years old.

Can you concealed carry weapons other than handguns in Idaho with a concealed carry license (or under permit-less carry if applicable)?

Yes. Any concealed deadly weapon is covered by an Idaho CWL license. This includes:

  • Any dirk, dirk knife, bowie knife, dagger, or firearm
  • Any other weapon, device, instrument, material, or substance that is designed and manufactured to be readily capable of causing death or serious bodily injury
  • Any other weapon, device, instrument, material, or substance that is intended by the person to be readily capable of causing death or serious bodily injury

Is it legal to own a taser or stun gun in Idaho?

Yes, legal to purchase and possess without a permit.

Is it legal to buy or use chemical spray/pepper spray in Idaho?

Yes.

Does Idaho have magazine capacity restrictions for handguns?

No.

Does Idaho have ammunition restrictions?

No. 

CONCEALED CARRY LOCATIONS IN IDAHO

QUESTION

ANSWER

Can you carry a concealed handgun in a vehicle in Idaho?

Yes, without a license, based on the signing of HB 516.

Can you carry a concealed firearm at roadside rest areas in Idaho?

Yes.

Can you carry a concealed firearm in state/national parks, state/national forest and Wildlife Management Areas in Idaho?

Yes. Check the National Parks webpage for links to each Park in Idaho.

Can you carry a concealed firearm in bars and restaurants that serve alcohol in Idaho?

Yes, there is no statute making it illegal to concealed carry, unless posted and provided you are not under the influence.

Can you carry or possess a firearm on hotel property in Idaho?

A hotelkeeper has the right to evict a person, whether or not the person is a guest of the hotel, who seeks to bring a firearm into the hotel. The hotelkeeper is not required to provide accommodations, facilities, or privileges of the hotel to any such person. Therefore, the individual hotel should be contacted to inquire about its concealed carry policy. 

Does Idaho have laws relating to storing firearms in private vehicles in an employee parking lot?

Employers may post their parking lots to prevent employees from storing guns in their vehicles.

KEY STATE LAWS IN IDAHO

QUESTION

ANSWER

Do you have a duty to notify a police officer that you're carrying a concealed firearm in Idaho?

No.

Are "No Weapons Allowed? signs enforced in Idaho? If, yes, violating the sign would be considered to be a crime. If, no, violating the sign would not be considered a criminal offense.

No.

Does Idaho have preemption laws related to concealed carry (i.e., Does state law supersede local laws regarding the possession of handguns)?

Yes, the state has preemption over firearms, except a county may adopt ordinances to regulate, restrict or prohibit the discharge of firearms within its boundaries, under most circumstances.

Does Idaho have a red flag law?

No.

Does Idaho state law define brandishing?

No definition of brandishing was found in Idaho law. However, any person who shall intentionally, without malice, point or aim any firearm at or toward any other person shall be charged with a crime.

Does Idaho have laws regarding carrying a concealed firearm while using alcohol or chemical substances?

Concealed carry is not permitted while intoxicated or under the influence of an intoxicating drink or drug. Licenses may be denied to an unlawful user of marijuana or any depressant, stimulant or narcotic drug, or any controlled substance as defined in 21 U.S.C. 802.

Does Idaho issue concealed carry licenses to non-residents?

Yes.

Does Idaho allow the public to access concealed carry registry information through public records law?

No.

HANDGUN PURCHASE & POSSESSION IN IDAHO

QUESTION

ANSWER

Is a permit required to purchase a handgun in Idaho?

A permit is not required to purchase a handgun in Idaho.

Are background checks required for private gun sales in Idaho?

No, private firearms sales are not subject to a background check, however, federal and state purchaser prohibitions — including age restrictions — still apply. 

Does my current Idaho concealed carry license exempt me from needing a background check when I purchase firearm? 

Yes.

Is there a waiting period after purchasing a handgun in Idaho?

There is no waiting period to purchase a handgun in Idaho.

Do handguns need to be registered in Idaho?

Idaho does not require handguns to be registered. 

What is the minimum age to possess and transport a handgun in Idaho?

It is unlawful for any person under the age of 18 to possess any weapon, as defined in section 18-3302A, Idaho Code, unless he or she:

  • Has the written permission of his or her parent or guardian to possess the weapon
  • Is accompanied by his or her parent or guardian while he or she has the weapon in his possession.

Can I possess/carry a handgun in my home in Idaho without a license? 

Yes, permitless carry is allowed for any person’s at least 18 years old who meet the legal requirements in Idaho. 

IDAHO CONCEALED CARRY LICENSE INFORMATION

Concealed Carry Requirements to Register for a License in Idaho

Requirements:

  • Be at least 18 years of age
  • Be a U.S. citizen or legal resident
  • Not be a person who has been a citizen of the United States and has renounced his or her citizenship
  • Demonstrate familiarity with the firearm through a course
  • Have resided in Idaho for at least 6 months
  • Not have been formally charged or adjudicated guilty in any court of a crime punishable by imprisonment for a term exceeding one year
  • Not have received a withheld judgment or suspended sentence for a crime punishable by imprisonment for a term exceeding one year, unless the person has successfully completed probation
  • Not be a fugitive from justice
  • Not be an unlawful user of marijuana or any depressant, stimulant or narcotic drug, or any controlled substance as defined in 21 U.S.C. section 802
  • Not be currently suffering from or have been adjudicated as having suffered from any of the following conditions, based on substantial evidence:
    • Lacking mental capacity as defined in section 18-210, Idaho Code
    • Mentally ill as defined in section 66-317, Idaho Code
    • Gravely disabled as defined in section 66-317, Idaho Code
    • An incapacitated person as defined in section 15-5-101, Idaho Code
  • Not have been discharged from the armed forces under dishonorable conditions
  • Not have received a period of probation after having been adjudicated guilty of, or received a withheld judgment for, a misdemeanor offense that has as an element the intentional use, attempted use, or threatened use of physical force against the person or property of another, unless the person has successfully completed probation
  • Not be the subject of a withheld judgment for a crime prohibiting a carry license released pending trial, appeal, or sentencing for a crime prohibiting a carry license
  • Not be subject to a protection order issued under chapter 63, title 39, Idaho Code
  • Meet federal law requirements

Fees:

$20 for the initial license (possible separate fee for processing and fingerprinting)

$15 for renewals (possible separate fee for processing and background checks)

Valid For:

5 years

Processing Time:

90 days

Applications:

Application form

Additional application requirements for an enhanced CWL:

  • A state-approved, 8-hour course attended in-person and not through electronic or other means, that includes instruction in:
    • Idaho law relating to firearms and the use of deadly force, provided by a state-approved trainer
    • The basic concepts of the safe and responsible use of handguns
    • Self-defense principles
    • Live-fire training, including the firing of at least 98 rounds by the student

Non-Resident Concealed Carry License:

Yes. Idaho also issues CWLs to non-residents. The requirements are similar to residents. Contact your local county sheriff’s office. Non-residents who possess licenses issued by their home state may apply for enhanced CWLs.

Name & Address Changes:

Contact local county sheriff’s office.

Lost or Stolen Licenses:

Contact local county sheriff’s office.

Residency Changes:

Idaho does not distinguish between resident and non-resident licenses so a license can be applied for any time. You must hold residency in Idaho for a minimum of 6 months in order to obtain an Idaho resident license.

If an Idaho concealed weapon licensee establishes residency in another state, their license will be valid until expiry, as long as he or she contacts the county sheriff’s office.

IDAHO CONCEALED CARRY LICENSE APPLICATION PROCESS

Step One:

Complete a training course with Concealed Coalition.

Step Two:

Download and complete the application form linked above. For in-person registration, visit your local sheriff’s office. 

Step Three:

Deliver the following documents to your local sheriff’s office:

  • complete application
  • proof of training
  • photo ID

Step Four:

You will be notified if your applicatio is approved.

IDAHO CONCEALED CARRY LICENSE RENEWAL PROCESS

Step One:

Concealed carry permits can be renewed either 90 days before expiration, or 90 days after a license has expired. If an applicant does not submit their renewal within this timeframe, they will need to apply for a new license. 

Step Two:

Download and complete the following application form for license renewals.

Step Three:

Take the following documents to your local sheriff’s office:

  • Completed application
  • Photo ID

Step Four:

You will be notified when your request for permit renewal is approved.

Get Certified for a Idaho Concealed Carry Permit Today

Our network of firearms professionals are holding training classes and in-person certification courses throughout Idaho. Use our certification locator to enroll in an upcoming firearms training course near you today, or visit our Idaho concealed carry permitting resource for online certification.

Get Certified for your Idaho Concealed Carry Permit with Concealed Coalition