ATTENTION GUN OWNERS & FUTURE GUN OWNERS: GET CONCEALED CARRY CERTIFIED BEFORE IT'S TOO LATE

Mississippi Concealed Carry Reciprocity Map & Gun Laws

Prepare for Your Concealed Carry Permit and Learn the Gun Laws and Regulations of Mississippi.

Mississippi State Seal

Mississippi Reciprocity Map

Mississippi Concealed Carry Reciprocity Overview

3M

STATE POPULATION

47K

LICENSES ISSUED

1.57%

LICENSE PERCENTAGE

50

STATES HONORED

21

MINIMUM AGE TO CC

4-5

YEARS LICENSE VALID

35

RECIPROCATING STATES

YES

CONSTITUTIONAL CARRY

TBA

CC CERTIFIED INSTRUCTORS

Get Firearm Certified in Mississippi

Do you need a permit for your firearm in Mississippi? Can you carry it concealed without notifying the local authorities? If you’re a resident of Mississippi and own a firearm, it’s important you know the answers to these questions along with the other state gun laws.

If you’re thinking of applying for a concealed carry license, you need to show a familiarity with firearms and associated laws. But with so much information to learn, where do you even start?

Concealed Coalition is the leader in gun law education and firearm training. We provide you with the knowledge, training, and certification you need to achieve your concealed carry permit in Mississippi. We have trained over one million U.S. citizens on how to carry their weapons safely and effectively.

Contact us via phone at (601) 202-1368 or go online for local training to get your CC license. 

Summary of Mississippi Gun Laws

Your Mississippi Gun Rights

Mississippi is a shall-issue permitless carry state. Concealed weapons permits are issued at the state level by the Department of Public Safety.

Shall issue means that the issuing authority, county sheriff, or police department is compelled to issue a permit if the applicant passes the basic requirements set out by state law. Permitless carry includes constitutional carry and means no state permit is required to carry a handgun.

Nor a permit or background checks are needed to purchase a firearm from a private individual. However, background checks are needed if you’re purchasing a handgun from a Federal Firearms Dealer.

Open Carry in Mississippi

Open carry is legal for people over 18 years old without a permit that can legally possess a firearm in Mississippi with some restrictions. Off limit areas include off-limits such as schools and bars. The firearm must be carried in a holster, sheath, or scabbard and must be at least partially visible above clothing anywhere that guns are prohibited.

Concealed Carry in Mississippi

Concealed carry without a permit is legal in Mississippi for anyone legally allowed to own a firearm, as long as the handgun is carried in a holster or sheath. There is no minimum age for permitless concealed carry in Mississippi.

For reciprocity, two types of permits are available at the state level. The Standard Firearms Permit (SFP) and an enhanced version (E-SFP), which allow carry in more locations. Applicants must be at least 21 years old (or at least 18 and a member of the military or a veteran) and either be a resident of Mississippi, a non-resident with a valid recognized permit from another state, active duty member of the military stationed in Mississippi or a retired law enforcement officer establishing residency in Mississippi.

The E-SFP requires a firearms training course offered by an instructor certified by the Mississippi Department of Public Safety. Regarding reciprocity, any person who can legally possess a firearm may carry a concealed firearm on his or her person without a license or permit due to Mississippi being a permitless carry state.

Self Defense Laws in Mississippi

Mississippi is a Castle Doctrine state which has a stand your ground law. Any person who is not the initial aggressor and is not engaged in any unlawful activity shall have no duty to retreat before using deadly force if the person is in a place where the person has a right to be.

Use of Force in Defense of Person

Homicide may be justified when committed by a person in resisting being killed, resisting a felony upon the person, or upon or in any dwelling, vehicle, place of business, place of employment, or in the immediate premises thereof in which such person shall be.

“Dwelling” means a building or conveyance of any kind that has a roof over it, whether the building or conveyance is temporary or permanent, mobile or immobile, including a tent, that is designed to be occupied by people lodging therein at night, including any attached porch.

Homicide may also be justified when committed in the lawful defense of one’s own person or any other human being, where it is reasonable to believe the person was in imminent danger of a felony or great personal injury.

The Mississippi state statute provides that a person acting in justifiable self-defense shall have similar presumptions in civil cases and is immune from civil suits if found “not guilty” in criminal proceedings.

Protecting Yourself After Use of Force

How you stand legally after using force will depend on how local Mississippi authorities view the situation. You can speak with a local lawyer to find out the details. It’s important to equip yourself with local knowledge via our firearms training course. A Conceal Coalition certification will provide you with everything you need to know to be a responsible gun owner in Mississippi. 

Mississippi Gun Laws by Statute

It is vitally important for all Mississippi firearms owners to remember that firearms laws can and do change. Law enforcement agencies or legislators may alter any regulations listed below at any time. Licensees should regularly check the Mississippi attorney general’s website which has all the latest information. 

Contact us today at (601) 202-1368 or email to discuss your concealed carry permit educational needs.

Quick Links

Mississippi Concealed Carry Gun Laws and Permit Certification Guidelines

CONCEALED CARRY BASICS IN MISSISSIPPI

QUESTION

ANSWER

What States Have Reciprocity with Mississippi?

Mississippi issues firearm permits for reciprocity purposes. Resident permits issued by the following states will be recognized in Mississippi, and Mississippi permits held by Mississippi residents will be recognized in these states; Alabama, Arkansas, Idaho, Indiana, Georgia, Montana, New Hampshire, New Hampshire, North Carolina, South Dakota, and Vermont.

Which States’ Permits Does Mississippi Honor?

The state of Mississippi honors the permits of 50 states. These include Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, New York City, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming, and Puerto Rico.  

States That Have Restricted Reciprocity with Mississippi

Mississippi offers resident and non-resident (military stationed in Mississippi and retired law enforcement officers establishing residency in the state) permits. States with restricted reciprocity include Arizona, Alaska, Colorado, Florida, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Maine, Michigan, Missouri, New Mexico, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia, and Wyoming. 

Does Mississippi recognize constitutional carry?

Yes. Mississippi allows permitless carry with some limitations. A license is not required for a loaded or unloaded pistol or revolver to be carried upon the person in a sheath, belt holster, or shoulder holster or in a purse, handbag, satchel, other similar bag or briefcase or fully enclosed case if the person is not engaged in criminal activity other than a misdemeanor traffic offense, is not otherwise prohibited from possessing a pistol or revolver under state or federal law, and is not in a prohibited location.

Is open carry permitted in Mississippi?

Yes, for anyone at least 18 years old and legally entitled to possess a firearm.

If Mississippi requires a license to carry a concealed firearm, how are those licenses issued?

Mississippi is a shall-issue state which means that if an applicant passes the basic requirements made by state law, the issuing authority, sheriff, or police department is compelled to issue the permit.

What is the minimum age in Mississippi to get a concealed carry license?

Not addressed in Mississippi statutes. However, standard and enhanced permits can be issued to applicants that are at least 21 years old and qualify, or at least 18 years old and a member of the military or a military veteran.

Can you concealed carry weapons other than handguns in Mississippi with a concealed carry license (or under permit-less carry if applicable)?

Yes. You can carry a stun gun or a concealed handgun with a concealed carry permit.

Is it legal to own a taser or stun gun in Mississippi?

Yes. A cc permit is required to carry a stun gun or taser but not to purchase them. Off-limits areas for concealed handguns also apply to stun guns.

Is it legal to buy or use chemical spray/pepper spray in Mississippi?

Yes.

Does Mississippi have magazine capacity restrictions for handguns?

No. Mississippi does not have magazine capacity restrictions.

Does Mississippi have ammunition restrictions?

No. There are no ammunition restrictions in Mississippi.

CONCEALED CARRY LOCATIONS IN MISSISSIPPI

QUESTION

ANSWER

Can you carry a concealed handgun in a vehicle in Mississippi?

Yes, if not prohibited from possessing a handgun. A handgun may be carried upon the person if it is in a sheath, belt holster, or shoulder holster; in a purse, handbag, satchel, other similar bags; or in a briefcase or fully enclosed case.

Can you carry a concealed firearm at roadside rest areas in Mississippi?

Yes. It is allowed to carry a concealed firearm at roadside rest areas in Mississippi.

Can you carry a concealed firearm in state/national parks, state/national forest and Wildlife Management Areas in Mississippi?

Yes, for anyone permitted to carry a firearm and not engage in criminal activity.

Can you carry a concealed firearm in bars and restaurants that serve alcohol in Mississippi?

Yes, for anyone permitted to carry a firearm unless posted. However, concealed carry is not allowed in bars or bar areas of restaurants.

Can you carry or possess a firearm on hotel property in Mississippi?

Not if the hotel owner prohibits it. For a property owner to ban firearms, they must place a conspicuous written notice at a distance of not less than 10 feet, that says “carrying of a pistol or revolver is prohibited.” Contact the hotel about its concealed carry policy. 

Does Mississippi have laws relating to storing firearms in private vehicles in an employee parking lot?

A public or private employer may not establish, maintain or enforce any policy or rule that has the effect of prohibiting a person from transporting or storing a firearm in a locked vehicle in any parking lot, parking garage, or other designated parking area. For secured parking lots and properties where firearms are prohibited, there are exceptions.

IMPORTANT GUNS LAWS IN MISSISSIPPI

QUESTION

ANSWER

Do you have a duty to notify a police officer that you're carrying a concealed firearm in Mississippi?

No.

Are "No Weapons Allowed? signs enforced in Mississippi? If, yes, violating the sign would be considered to be a crime. If, no, violating the sign would not be considered a criminal offense.

Yes. Carrying a stun gun, concealed pistol, or revolver may not be allowed in any place at the discretion of the person or entity exercising control over the location by posting a sign stating “carrying of a pistol or revolver is prohibited.”

Enhanced carry permit holders may carry a concealed handgun into any locations in which the carrying of concealed weapons is generally prohibited, except that he or she may not carry a concealed weapon into:

  • Any courtroom during a judicial proceeding or when otherwise prohibited by a judge
  • Any place of nuisance (defined as any place where lewdness or prostitution is conducted or permitted or where controlled substances are unlawfully used, possessed, sold, or delivered more than once)
  • Any police, sheriff, or highway patrol station
  • Any detention facility, prison, or jail

Does Mississippi have preemption laws related to concealed carry (i.e., Does state law supersede local laws regarding the possession of handguns)?

Yes. Mississippi State has preemption of firearms laws.
However, local governments may regulate the discharge of firearms and the carrying of firearms at:

  • A public park or at a public meeting of a county, municipality, or other governmental body
  • A political rally, parade, or official political meeting
  • A non-firearm-related school, college, or professional athletic event

Signs prohibiting firearms at such places by local ordinance must also indicate that the prohibition does not apply to enhanced permit holders or that the location is one where all license holders are prohibited from carrying.

Does Mississippi have a red flag law?

No.

Does Mississippi state law define brandishing?

There is no definition of brandishing in Mississippi law. However, if any person, having or carrying any dirk, dirk-knife, sword, sword-cane, or any deadly weapon, shall, in the presence of another person, brandish or wield the same in a threatening manner, not in necessary self-defense, or shall in any manner unlawfully use the same in any fight or quarrel they shall be guilty of a deadly weapons offense. In prosecutions under this section it shall not be necessary that any gun, pistol, or other firearm be loaded, or in condition to be discharged.

Does Mississippi have laws regarding carrying a concealed firearm while using alcohol or chemical substances?

This is not addressed in Mississippi state statutes.

Does Mississippi issue concealed carry licenses to non-residents?

Yes. Standard permits can be issued to non-residents. The applicant must either already possess a valid permit from another state, be an active duty member of the military stationed in Mississippi or be a retired law enforcement officer establishing residency in the state.

If the applicant is between the ages of 18 and 21 years old and a member of the military, he or she must have a valid Mississippi driver’s license or ID card issued by the Department of Public Safety.

Does Mississippi allow the public to access concealed carry registry information through public records law?

No. However information for law enforcement is available.

HANDGUN PURCHASE & POSSESSION IN MISSISSIPPI

QUESTION

ANSWER

Is a permit required to purchase a handgun in Mississippi?

A permit is not required to purchase a handgun in Mississippi. 

Are background checks required for private gun sales in Mississippi?

No, private firearms transfers are not subject to background check requirements. State and federal purchasing prohibitions still apply. 

Does my current Mississippi concealed carry license exempt me from needing a background check when I purchase firearm? 

Yes.

Is there a waiting period after purchasing a handgun in Mississippi?

There is no waiting period to purchase a handgun in Mississippi. 

Do handguns need to be registered in Mississippi?

No, handguns do not need to be registered in Mississippi.

What is the minimum age to possess and transport a handgun in Mississippi?

A person must be at least 18 years old. 

Can I possess/carry a handgun in my home in Mississippi without a license? 

Yes. Any person over the age of 18 and legally entitled to carry a firearm within the confines of his or her own home, place of business, on real property associated with the home or business or within any motor vehicle.

MISSISSIPPI CONCEALED CARRY LICENSE INFORMATION

Concealed Carry Requirements to Register for a License in Mississippi

Requirements:

  • Be at least 21 years of age or 18 if a member of the military;
  • Have been a resident of the state for more than 12 months (although this may be waived if the applicant possesses a valid permit from another state, is on active military duty and stationed in the state, or is a retired law enforcement officer residing in the state);
  • Not have been convicted of a felony without having been pardoned;
  • Not be suffering from a physical infirmity that prevents the safe handling of a handgun;
  • Have no violent misdemeanor convictions within the last 3 years;
  • Not have been adjudicated mentally incompetent or must wait 5 years from the date of his or her restoration of mental capacity by court order;
  • Not have been committed to a mental institution or mental health treatment facility, unless he or she possesses a certificate from a psychiatrist licensed in Mississippi stating that he or she has not suffered from disability for 5 years;
  • Not chronically and habitually use alcoholic beverages to the extent that his or her normal faculties are impaired;
  • Not be a fugitive from justice;
  • Not have had an adjudication of guilt withheld or imposition of sentence suspended on any felony unless 3 years have elapsed since probation or any other conditions set by the court have been fulfilled; and
  • Meet federal law requirements.

Fees:

Initial Permit $112.

Renewals are $72 or $52 for individuals 65 or older.

Late renewal fee $15.

Exemption from the payment of the license fees includes U.S. Armed Forces honorably retired law enforcement officers, disabled veterans, and active-duty members. There is only a $ 32.00 charge for fingerprint processing. 

 

Valid For:

5 years for the initial permit

4 years for renewals

Processing Time:

45 days

Applications:

Non-Resident Concealed Carry License:

Yes. Standard permits can be issued to non-residents that have a valid permit from another state, are active-duty members of the military stationed in Mississippi, or are retired law enforcement officers establishing residency in Mississippi.

If the applicant is between 18 and 21 years old and is a member of the military, he or she must have a valid Mississippi driver’s license or identification card issued by the Department of Public Safety. Individuals who have been residents of Mississippi for 12 months or more can apply for an enhanced permit.

Name & Address Changes:

The Department of Public Safety must be notified in writing within 30 days after the changing of a permanent address. Your name, permit number, old and new addresses, and contact number in case of questions must be included. Mail change of address to:

Firearm Permit Unit 
P.O. Box 958 
Jackson, MS 39205-0958

Lost or Stolen Licenses:

Within 30 days after having a permit lost or destroyed, you must notify the Department of Public Safety (DPS) in writing. A notarized Lost or Destroyed Permit Affidavit or notarized statement to DPS that the permit has been lost or destroyed is required. If your permit is lost or destroyed, you may obtain a duplicate for $15. Duplicates are done at the Firearm Permit Unit at DPS headquarters and the substations according to their published schedule.​​

Residency Changes:

Permits may not be valid if anyone with a Mississippi firearms permit establishes residency in another state. The Mississippi Firearm Permit Unit should be contacted for details.

MISSISSIPPI CONCEALED CARRY LICENSE APPLICATION PROCESS

Step One:

Download and complete the following application. You will need to have it notarized to continue the application process. 

Step Two:

Take the notarized application to the Department of Public Safety or a Highway Patrol substation. You will also need:

  • Two forms of ID
  • A photo that fits in the box on Page 12 of the application

Your fingerprints will be taken.

Step Three:

You will be notified when your application is approved. 

MISSISSIPPI CONCEALED CARRY LICENSE RENEWAL PROCESS

Overview:

Renewal packages are mailed out 90 days before a permits expiry date. The licensee must renew his or her license on or before the expiration date by filing with the department the renewal form, a notarized affidavit stating that the licensee remains qualified. There is a late fee of $15 that can be payed for up to 6 months past the expiry date. Any permits expired for more than 6 months are marked as permanently expired and you will need to make a new application for a permit.

Step One:

Download and complete the following application. You will need to have it notarized to continue the application process. 

Step Two:

Take the notarized application to the Department of Public Safety or a Highway Patrol substation or mail it to the address below. You will also need:

  • Two forms of ID
  • A photo that fits in the box on Page 12 of the application

Renewals may be mailed in for the first renewal and then every other time of renewal. The applicant must appear in person every 10 years for the purpose of obtaining a new photograph. 

Firearm Permit Division
P.O. Box 958
Jackson, MS 39205 

Step Three:

You will be notified when your application is approved. 

Get Certified for a Mississippi Concealed Carry Permit Today

Our network of firearms professionals are holding training classes and in-person certification courses throughout Mississippi. Use our certification locator to enroll in an upcoming firearms training course near you today, or visit our Mississippi concealed carry permitting resource for online certification.

Concealed Carry Permit Training and Certification in Mississippi

Did we miss something?

If you have any questions that you don’t see answered here — let us know! Just email info@concealedcoalition.com and we will be sure to get your question resolved. Your feedback matters to us, and we appreciate you helping to make this page the best possible resource for responsible gun owners! The information contained on this website is provided by Concealed Coalition as a service to its members and the public. The information on this page does not constitute legal advice. Our goal is to provide thorough, up-to-date information regarding concealed carry laws, reciprocity, and requirements. We make no claims, representations, warranties, promises or guarantees as to the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information disclosed. At the time of publishing the information contained in this page was correct and up-to-date. However, laws are constantly changing, and as a result, nothing contained on this website should be considered legal advice. Please consult a lawyer should you require legal advice regarding concealed carry and gun laws in your state. Did you know our membership includes a Pre-paid legal protection plan? Sign up today and gain access to 24/7 coverage from a team of legal experts?

Get Certified Today