Nebraska Concealed Carry Reciprocity Map & Gun Laws

Prepare for Your Concealed Carry Permit and Learn the Gun Laws and Regulations of Nebraska.

Nebraska State Seal

Nebraska Reciprocity Map

Nebraska Concealed Carry Reciprocity Overview



















Responsible Nebraska Concealed Carry

If you want to apply for a concealed carry permit in Nebraska, arm yourself with the knowledge to show your familiarity with firearms. Be a responsible gun owner and know your rights when it comes to owning, carrying, and using a gun in Nebraska. But with so many laws, regulations, and requirements in place, how can you ensure you cover everything?

Concealed Coalition is the leader in firearm education. We provide you with the knowledge, training, and certification you need to achieve your concealed carry permit. We have trained over one million U.S. citizens on how to carry their weapons safely and effectively.

Contact us via phone at (402) 204-0375 or go online for local training to get your CC license. 

Summary of Nebraska Gun Laws

Your Nebraska Gun Rights

Nebraska is a shall-issue permitless carry state as of Sept. 2nd, 2023. Concealed weapons permits are issued by the State Patrol Department.

Shall issue means that as long as an applicant passes the basic requirements set out by state law, the issuing authority county sheriff or police department is compelled to issue a permit. Permitless carry means no state permit is required to carry a handgun, but you must meet both Nebraska state laws and federal standards and be a law-abiding Nebraskan who can own a firearm.

To purchase a handgun including private sales, a handgun certificate or concealed carry permit is required. In the city of Omaha, you are required to register your handgun if you do not have a concealed handgun permit. 

Open Carry in Nebraska

Open carry is legal without a permit in Nebraska for anyone 21 years old and over that can legally possess a firearm but could be restricted by local governments. If open carrying inside a vehicle, the firearm needs to be clearly visible. Some areas are off-limits, including schools. Please see below for those under the age of 21.

Nebraska State Statute 28-1204.

Unlawful possession of a handgun; exceptions; penalty.
(1) Any person under the age of eighteen years who possesses a handgun commits the offense of unlawful possession of a handgun.

(2) This section does not apply to the issuance of handguns to members of the armed forces of the United States, active or reserve, National Guard of this state, or Reserve Officers Training Corps, when on duty or training, or to the temporary loan of handguns for instruction under the immediate supervision of a parent or guardian or adult instructor.

(3) Unlawful possession of a handgun is a Class I misdemeanor.


Concealed Carry in Nebraska

Concealed carry is legal for residents that meet the legal federal and state standards for Permitless Carry and for those that obtain a Nebraska Concealed Handgun Permit (CHP) and for non-residents with a permit from a state that Nebraska honors. The minimum age for law-abiding Nebraskans who are 21 years or older to carry a concealed handgun without a permit (permitless) or to obtain a concealed handgun permit.

Applicants must also complete a firearms training course if they are going to apply for a CHP. Permits are restricted to residents and military personnel and their spouses stationed in Nebraska. In the city of Lincoln, the possession of a firearm by anyone who has been convicted of certain misdemeanors within the last 10 years is prohibited. This includes stalking, violation of an order of protection, sexual assault and public indecency. Nebraska will recognize permits issued by those states which have standards equal to or greater than its own. 
To purchase a handgun including private sales, a Purchase Permit or concealed carry permit is required as of Sept. 2nd, 2023.

Self Defense Laws in Nebraska

Nebraska is a Castle Doctrine state. There is no duty to retreat while in a person’s dwelling or workplace. Present law requires citizens if outside their homes, vehicles, or outbuildings, to retreat before protecting themselves or their family against violent intruders.

Use of Force in Self-Protection

Using force upon or toward another person is justified:

  • When the actor believes that such force is immediately necessary to protect himself against the use of unlawful force by such other person on the present occasion
  • When the actor believes that such force is necessary to protect himself against death, serious bodily harm, kidnapping, or sexual intercourse compelled by force or threat
  • To resist force used by the occupier or possessor of property if:
    • The actor has been unlawfully dispossessed of the property and is making a re-entry or recapture justified by section 28-1411 
    • The actor believes that such force is necessary to protect himself against death or serious bodily harm

Using deadly force is not justifiable if:

  • The actor provoked the use of force against himself or herself in the same encounter
  • The actor knows that he can avoid the necessity of using such force with complete safety by retreating, surrendering possession of an item, or by complying with a demand that he or she abstain from any action which one has no duty to take, except that
    • The actor shall not be obliged to retreat from his or her dwelling or place of work unless the person was the initial aggressor or is assailed in the place of work by another person whose place of work the actor knows it to be

Use of Force in Defense of Person

Using force is justifiable to protect a third person when:

  • The actor would be justified in using such force to protect himself or herself against the injury he or she believes to be threatened to the person whom one seeks to protect
  • Under the circumstances, the person whom he or she seeks to protect would be justified in using such protective force
  • The actor believes that his or her intervention is necessary for the protection of such another person

A person is not required to retreat before using force in the protection of another person against the use of unlawful force unless one knows that he can thereby secure the complete safety of such other person. However, there is no duty to retreat when in the other’s dwelling or place of work.

Use of Force In Defense of Other Property

The use of force is justifiable when the actor believes that such force is immediately necessary:

  • To prevent or terminate an unlawful entry or other trespasses upon land or trespass against or the unlawful carrying away of tangible, movable property; or
  • To effect an entry or re-entry upon land or to retake tangible movable property.

Protecting Yourself After Use of Force

How you stand legally after using force will depend on how local county authorities view the situation. You can speak with a local attorney for more information. It’s important to equip yourself with local gun law knowledge via our firearms training course. A Conceal Coalition certification will provide you with everything you need to know to be a responsible gun owner in Nebraska. 

It’s essential for Nebraska firearm owners to remember that the following Nebraska carry laws are subject to change without notice. The attorney general’s website has all the latest information and should be visited regularly by licensees.

Concealed Coalition is dedicated to dispelling the myths surrounding gun ownership and promoting a culture of understanding and responsibility. Our certified instructors are qualified across multiple states, and our online or local training classes provide convenient learning with instructors who care.

Contact us today at (402) 204-0375 or email to discuss your Nebraska concealed carry permit educational needs. In the meantime, check out the information on this page as well as the above Nebraska reciprocity map for additional information.

Nebraska Concealed Carry Training and Permit Certification




What States Have Nebraska CCW Reciprocity?

Alabama, Arkansas, Idaho, Indiana, Louisiana, Mississippi, Montana, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, Ohio, South Dakota, Vermont, Virginia, and Wisconsin. 

Which States’ Permits Does Nebraska Honor?

The state of Nebraska honors the permits of 36 states. These include Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, District of Columbia, Florida, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, and Wyoming.  

Nebraska will recognize concealed handgun permits issued by those states which the Nebraska Attorney General has determined have standards equal to or greater than Nebraska. The minimum age is 21 years old. Nebraska residents must have a Nebraska concealed handgun permit in order to carry a handgun in the state.

States That Have Restricted Nebraska Reciprocity

Arizona, Alaska, Colorado, Florida, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Maine, Michigan, Missouri, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, West Virginia, and Wyoming. 

Does Nebraska recognize permitless carry?

Yes. Nebraska does allow permitless carry as of Sept. 2, 2023.

Is open carry permitted in Nebraska?

Yes. Nebraska open carry laws allow anyone who is at least 18 years old and permitted to possess a firearm to do so. However, a concealed carry permit is required in Omaha city. The Nebraska state preemption allows the regulation of open carry of firearms by local governments.

If Nebraska requires a license to carry a concealed firearm, how are those licenses issued?

Nebraska is a shall-issue state which means that if an applicant passes the basic requirements made by state law, the issuing authority, sheriff, or police department is compelled to issue the permit.

What is the minimum age in Nebraska to get a Concealed Handgun Permit?

21 years old is the minimum age to get a concealed carry permit in Nebraska.

Can you concealed carry weapons other than handguns in Nebraska with a Concealed Handgun Permit (or under permit-less carry if applicable)?


Is it legal to own a taser or stun gun in Nebraska?

Yes. It’s legal to purchase and possess stun guns and tasers without a permit in Nebraska.

Is it legal to buy or use chemical spray/pepper spray in Nebraska?

Yes. The purchase or use of pepper spray in Nebraska is allowed.

Does Nebraska have magazine capacity restrictions for handguns?

No. There are no restrictions for magazine capacity in Nebraska. 

Does Nebraska have ammunition restrictions?

No. There are no ammunition restrictions in Nebraska.




Can you carry a concealed handgun in a vehicle in Nebraska?

Yes. If the handgun is in plain sight, it is allowed to carry a loaded handgun in a vehicle in Nebraska. However, some city’s regulations may vary.

Some regulations state that a person without a permit but who is allowed to possess a firearm will be able to transport a firearm to, or from, any location where it can be lawfully possessed, carried, and used, provided it is unloaded, kept separate from ammunition and stored in a case.

Can you carry a concealed firearm at roadside rest areas in Nebraska?

Yes. Only if the carrier has a Nebraska concealed handgun permit or a concealed carry license or permits from a state that Nebraska honors or is carrying via permitless carry as of Sept. 2nd 2023.

Can you carry a concealed firearm in state/national parks, state/national forest and Wildlife Management Areas in Nebraska?

Yes. Only if the carrier has a Nebraska concealed handgun permit or a concealed carry license or permits from a state that Nebraska honors, unless signposted.

Can you carry a concealed firearm in bars and restaurants that serve alcohol in Nebraska?

You can conceal carry in the restaurant area of an eatery that serves alcohol with a Nebraska concealed carry permit or a permit/license from a state that Nebraska honors, unless posted and provided you consume no alcohol. However, concealed carry is not allowed in bars or bar areas of restaurants.

Can you carry or possess a firearm on hotel property in Nebraska?

Contact the hotel to find out their individual policies on concealed carry. 

It is at the discretion of the business owner and any private business may not allow concealed carry on their premises. A conspicuous notice must be present on the premises stating that concealed carry of a handgun is prohibited and the holder must remove it from the premises.

Does Nebraska have laws relating to storing firearms in private vehicles in an employee parking lot?

In Nebraska, concealed handgun permit holders are allowed to carry a concealed handgun in a vehicle even in a parking lot of a location where concealed handguns are permitted. However, it must be locked in a box attached to the vehicle such as a glove box or security box before exiting the vehicle.  




Do you have a duty to notify a police officer that you're carrying a concealed firearm in Nebraska?

Yes. In Nebraska, you need to inform law enforcement that you are carrying a concealed firearm. 

Are "No Weapons Allowed" signs enforced in Nebraska? If, yes, violating the sign would be considered to be a crime. If, no, violating the sign would not be considered a criminal offense.

Yes. Places open to the public need to post a conspicuous notice that carrying a concealed handgun is prohibited in or on the place. Or a request can be made that the permit holder must remove the concealed handgun from the premises.

Does Nebraska have preemption laws related to concealed carry (i.e., Does state law supersede local laws regarding the possession of handguns)?

Yes & No. Nebraska state has preemption over the regulation of firearms, however cities with populations of 800-5,000 (second class) are an exception, also villages may:

  • Regulate the discharge of firearms
  • Regulate, prevent and punish the carrying of concealed weapons consistent with the Concealed Handgun Permit Act

Does Nebraska have a red flag law?

No, Nebraska carry laws do not include a red flag law.

Do Nebraska carry laws define brandishing?

There is no definition of brandishing in Nebraska law. However, if a person intentionally, knowingly or recklessly causes bodily injury to another person, or threatens another person in a menacing manner, they are committing assault in the third degree.

Does Nebraska have laws regarding carrying a concealed firearm while using alcohol or chemical substances?

Concealed carry is not allowed in Nebraska if the permit holder is consuming alcohol or drugs or while having remaining previously consumed substances in their blood, urine, or breath. This is not the case for therapeutically prescribed amounts and lawfully obtained substances.

Does Nebraska issue concealed handgun permits to non-residents?

Yes, but permits are only issued to military personnel and their spouses, who are living locally and treated as residents.

Does Nebraska allow the public to access concealed carry registry information through public records law?

No public access is allowed but the information is available for law enforcement.




Is a permit required to purchase a handgun in Nebraska?

Yes, a concealed carry permit or handgun certification is required to purchase a handgun in Nebraska.

Are background checks required for private gun sales in Nebraska?

No, to purchase a handgun in Nebraska a person must show they have a concealed carry permit or handgun purchase permit.

Exceptions include transfers between individuals, such as a spouse, sibling, parent, and so on.

Does my current Nebraska concealed handgun permit exempt me from needing a background check when I purchase firearm? 

Yes, your CHP is good for 5 years.

Is there a waiting period after purchasing a handgun in Nebraska?

Nebraska does not impose a waiting period to purchase a handgun.

Do handguns need to be registered in Nebraska?

There is no statewide registration as of Sept. 2nd, 2023.

What is the minimum age to possess and transport a handgun in Nebraska?

18 years old.

Can I possess/carry a handgun in my home in Nebraska without a license? 

A permit is not required for anyone legally entitled to carry a firearm to carry a concealed weapon if the circumstances justify a prudent person in carrying the weapon for he defense of his or her person, property, or family.


Concealed Carry Requirements to Register for a License in Nebraska


  • Be at least 21 years old
  • Have resided in Nebraska for the previous 180 days, be a new resident to Nebraska with a permit from a state that is recognized by Nebraska or be a member of the military permanently stationed in Nebraska or their spouse
  • Pass an approved firearms training course
  • Complete a vision test
  • Not be on parole, probation, house arrest, or work release
  • Not have pled guilty or no contest to, or not have been convicted of a felony
  • Not have pled guilty or no contest to, or not have been convicted of, a misdemeanor crime of violence within the immediately preceding 10 years
  • Not have been found in the previous 10 years to be a mentally ill and dangerous person and not be currently adjudged mentally incompetent
  • Never have had a conviction for violation of any law relating to firearms, unlawful use of a weapon or controlled substances in the past 10 years
  • Meet federal law requirements


Initial Permit $100

Renewals $50 (plus $4.50 for online renewals)

Valid For:

5 years

Processing Time:

5 days


Non-Resident Concealed Handgun Permit:

Yes, but only for members of the military permanently stationed in Nebraska and their spouses. The process is the same as for residents.

Name & Address Changes:

Permit holders who change name or address are required to notify the Nebraska State Patrol (NSP) Concealed Handgun Permit Program within 30 days of the change in name or address using the application form prescribed by the Nebraska State Patrol. The application form should be accompanied by a copy of the applicant’s updated Nebraska driver’s license and current concealed handgun permit. A change of name or address request can also be completed online.

A permit holder moving to another state shall return the permit to the NSP Concealed Handgun Permit Program for cancellation. The permit is not valid if the permit holder is no longer a resident of Nebraska.

Lost or Stolen Licenses:

You must notify NSP within 10 days and request a replacement permit. The request can be made online. You must not carry a concealed handgun until the permit is replaced, as the law requires you to have the permit in your possession at any time you carry a concealed handgun.

Residency Changes:

Nebraska issues permits to residents and members of the military stationed in Nebraska and their spouses only. You can apply for your permit once you have been a resident of Nebraska for 180 days or if you are a new resident to Nebraska with a permit from a state that is recognized by Nebraska.

If a person with a Nebraska pistol permit establishes residency in another state, the pistol permit expires upon the establishment of residence in the other state.


Step One:

Have a valid Nebraska driver’s license. If you don’t have on, download and complete the vision statement form before proceeding. 

Step Two:

Complete a firearms training course with Concealed Coalition. 

Step Three:

Download and complete the concealed carry permit application. You will need to have this notarized before submission. You can also pick up the form from the State Patrol Headquarters. 

Step Four:

Take the notarized application to your nearest State Patrol headquarters along with the following:

  • Proof of firearms training
  • Proof of vision – driver’s license or completed vision statement
  • Proof of citizenship – birth certificate or passport
  • Proof of address – driver’s license or Nebraska ID card

You will be fingerprinted and your signature and photo taken.

Step Five:

You will be notified if your application has been approved. 


Step One:

Renewals are the responsibility of the permittee. Current permit holders may renew a permit to carry a concealed handgun within the four months prior to expiration of the initial permit at any Nebraska State Patrol Troop Headquarters. 

A permit holder letting an initial permit expire without applying for a renewal will be required to apply for another initial permit and meet all of the requirements for an initial permit. 

Step Two:

Download and complete the concealed carry permit application. You will need to have this notarized before submission. You can also pick up the form from the State Patrol Headquarters. 

Step Three:

The application must be accompanied with the appropriate fee, copy of current driver’s license and current concealed handgun permit.

Step Four:

The permit will be renewed and reissued within five working days of receipt of the application valid for a five year period from the date of expiration of the initial permit.

Get Certified for a Nebraska Concealed Carry Permit Today

Our network of firearms professionals are holding training classes and in-person certification courses throughout Nebraska. Use our certification locator to enroll in an upcoming firearms training course near you today, or visit our Nebraska concealed carry permitting resource for online certification.

Get Certified For Your Nebraska Concealed Carry Permit Today

Did we miss something?

If you have any questions that you don’t see answered here — let us know! Just email [email protected] and we will be sure to get your question resolved promptly. Your feedback matters to us, and we greatly appreciate you helping us make this page the best possible resource for responsible gun owners! The information contained on this website is provided by Concealed Coalition as a service to its members and the public. The information on this page does not constitute legal advice. Our goal is to provide thorough, up-to-date information regarding concealed carry laws, reciprocity, and requirements. We make no claims, representations, warranties, promises or guarantees as to the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information disclosed. At the time of publishing the information contained in this page was correct and up-to-date. However, laws are constantly changing, and as a result, nothing contained on this website should be considered legal advice. Please consult a lawyer should you require legal advice regarding concealed carry and gun laws in your state. Did you know our membership includes a pre-paid legal protection plan? Sign up today and gain access to 24/7 coverage from a team of legal experts.

*Legal protection plans available in select states.

Get Certified Today