ATTENTION GUN OWNERS & FUTURE GUN OWNERS: GET CONCEALED CARRY CERTIFIED BEFORE IT'S TOO LATE

New Mexico Concealed Carry Reciprocity Map & Gun Laws

Everything you need to know about owning a firearm in the state of New Mexico

New Mexico State Seal

New Mexico Reciprocity Map

Last Updated: 2021

New Mexico Concealed Carry Reciprocity Overview

2.1M

STATE POPULATION

34K

LICENSES ISSUED

1.6%

LICENSE PERCENTAGE

23

STATES HONORED

21

MINIMUM AGE TO CC

VARIES

YEARS LICENSE VALID

36

RECIPROCATING STATES

NO

CONSTITUTIONAL CARRY

2

CC CERTIFIED INSTRUCTORS

New Mexico residents looking to obtain their concealed carry license must become familiar with the state laws and gun rights that apply to them. The state is home to over 2 million people and has distributed around 34,000 concealed carry licenses as of October 2021. That means roughly 1.62% of the population is licensed for New Mexico concealed carry.

Understanding how New Mexico gun rights translate across state lines is called reciprocity. Some states will recognize your New Mexico concealed carry license, some will do so partially, and others won’t honor it at all. 

New Mexico has reciprocity agreements with 36 states and honors licenses from 23 others. A concealed carry permit in New Mexico lasts for five years for military members and four years for the public. The minimum concealed carry age is 21.

You need an education partner you can trust if you’re interested in obtaining your New Mexico concealed carry license. Concealed Coalition has trained over a million U.S. citizens on how to carry their weapons safely and effectively. Contact us to find online or local training to get your concealed carry license.

New Mexico Concealed Carry and Firearms Training with Concealed Coalition

Summary of New Mexico Gun Laws

Your New Mexico Gun Rights

The Concealed Carry Unit of the New Mexico DPS distributes the Concealed Handgun License (CHL). New Mexico is a shall-issue state, which means the DPS must grant a license to any applicant who meets the necessary legal requirements for firearms ownership.

Immediate family members or law enforcement officers may sell guns to each other without undergoing a background check. Anyone else must have a background check performed by a federally licensed firearms dealer. No registration or permit is necessary when buying from a private individual.

Keeping current with your gun rights is important for New Mexico concealed carry enthusiasts because your home state might update its rules at any time. New Mexico residents should always contact their Department of Public Safety (DPS) to stay current with the latest concealed carry information. Here are some key rules:

Open Carry in New Mexico

Anyone who meets the legal requirements for firearm ownership and is at least 19 years old may open carry in New Mexico without a permit. Location restrictions apply and are addressed later on this page. You don’t need a license to open carry an unloaded firearm in a vehicle.

Concealed Carry in New Mexico

Residents must have the CHL, and nonresidents must have a valid concealed carry license from a state that New Mexico honors. New Mexico forbids residents and nonresidents from concealed carrying any weapon other than the one they have been licensed for, and they may not carry more than one.

You must be at least 21 years old and have completed 15 hours of state-approved training to gain your concealed carry license. No license is required if you concealed carry an unloaded weapon in a vehicle.

Self Defense Laws in New Mexico

New Mexico has explicit rules regarding the use of force. Here are the details on how it can be legally used:

Use of Force

Use of force is allowed in self-defense without the necessity of having to retreat. New Mexico residents can stand their ground and meet force with reasonable counterforce.

Use of Deadly Force

It is permitted as a reasonable act when:

  • In defense of life, family or property
  • In self-defense or defense of others against a felony or great personal injury
  • Apprehending a felon, suppressing a riot, or preserving the peace


These are the three circumstances primarily mentioned in New Mexico law. Consult the force codes in their entirety for complete deadly force information.

Protecting Yourself After Use of Force

Familiarize yourself with New Mexico’s force laws to better protect yourself if force proves necessary. Contact local law enforcement for advice if you’re in any doubt about use-of-force scenarios.

Firearms training increases your legal knowledge and situational judgment. Concealed Coalition has trained people across the nation to become responsible, certified gun owners. Classes are available locally and online.

New Mexico Gun Laws by Statute

Concealed Coalition is dedicated to dispelling the myths surrounding gun ownership and promoting a culture of understanding, responsibility, and confidence. Our certified instructors are qualified across multiple states, and our online or local training classes provide convenient learning environments run by instructors who care.

Contact us today at (505) 317-2271 or email to discuss your concealed carry permit educational needs..

Quick Links

A Firearms Training Course in New Mexico

CONCEALED CARRY BASICS IN NEW MEXICO

QUESTION

ANSWER

Does New Mexico recognize constitutional carry?

No.

Is open carry permitted in New Mexico?

Yes.

If New Mexico requires a license to carry a concealed firearm, how are those licenses issued?

New Mexico. isa shall-issue state.

What is the minimum age in New Mexico to get a concealed carry license?

The minimum age to concealed carry in New Mexico is 21 years old.

Can you concealed carry weapons other than handguns in New Mexico with a concealed carry license (or under permit-less carry if applicable)?

No. However, state law limits concealed carry license holders to carrying one concealed gun at any given time

Is it legal to own a taser or stun gun in New Mexico?

Yes. No license is required to purchase these.

Is it legal to buy or use chemical spray/pepper spray in New Mexico?

Yes.

Does New Mexico have magazine capacity restrictions for handguns?

No.

Does New Mexico have ammunition restrictions?

No.

CONCEALED CARRY LOCATIONS IN NEW MEXICO

QUESTION

ANSWER

Where can't I carry a concealed firearm in New Mexico?

New Mexico state law prohibits concealed carry in:

  • Federal properties 
  • Schools and university premises, except in a vehicle
  • Preschools
  • On private property that has posted signs prohibiting concealed carry, or if the owner doesn’t wish concealed carry on their premises
  • Courts (without the consent of the presiding judge)
  • Tribal land (unless authorized by the governing body of the tribe or pueblo)
  • National Parks and National Wildlife Management Areas
  • Public buses
  • Airport security zones
  • Establishments selling hard liquor, unless with the permission of the owner

These locations are subject to change. It’s recommended to call ahead to ask about the firearms policy of any intended destination and how your status (civilian, LEO, etc.) may impact permissions.

Where can I carry a concealed firearm in New Mexico?

You may concealed carry in the following locations:

  • At roadside rest areas
  • In a vehicle
  • In state/national forests and parks with a CHL
  • In a place of worship with the owner’s permission
  • In establishments selling alcohol for consumption off-site (requires a CHL)

This list is also subject to change at any time. Always call ahead to your intended destination to learn their concealed carry policy.

Can you carry a concealed handgun in a vehicle in New Mexico?

This is permitted without the need for a firearms license.

Can you carry a concealed firearm at roadside rest areas in New Mexico?

Yes.

Can you carry a concealed firearm in state/national parks, state/national forest and Wildlife Management Areas in New Mexico?

WMAs are off-limits. The other locations are permitted when in possession of a CHL.

Can you carry a concealed firearm in bars and restaurants that serve alcohol in New Mexico?

Restaurant carry is legal. You can also carry in bar areas with the owner’s permission.

Can you carry or possess a firearm on hotel property in New Mexico?

Hotels can set their own firearms policy rules. Some may prohibit firearms through sign posting, while others may be more lenient. Call ahead to clarify their position before entering the premises.

Does New Mexico have laws relating to storing firearms in private vehicles in an employee parking lot?

This is not addressed in New Mexico law, so it’s important to discuss the matter with your employer before attempting to keep a firearm in an employee spot.

IMPORTANT GUNS LAWS IN NEW MEXICO

QUESTION

ANSWER

Do you have a duty to notify a police officer that you're carrying a concealed firearm in New Mexico?

There’s no duty to inform for New Mexico concealed carriers stopped by a law enforcement officer. It’s always recommended, however, to volunteer this information to officers in the spirit of transparency and cooperation.

Are "No Weapons Allowed? signs enforced in New Mexico? If, yes, violating the sign would be considered to be a crime. If, no, violating the sign would not be considered a criminal offense.

Yes, as are vocal warnings from property owners who make it clear they don’t want firearms on the premises.

Does New Mexico have preemption laws related to concealed carry (i.e., Does state law supersede local laws regarding the possession of handguns)?

Yes.

Does New Mexico have a red flag law?

Yes.

Does New Mexico state law define brandishing?

No. Negligent handling of a firearm is defined as is aggravated assault involving a gun.

Does New Mexico have laws regarding carrying a concealed firearm while using alcohol or chemical substances?

This is illegal under items B and C of New Mexico Code 10.8.2.16

Does New Mexico issue concealed carry licenses to non-residents?

Not unless they’re a member of the military stationed in New Mexico or a dependent of such military personnel.

Does New Mexico allow the public to access concealed carry registry information through public records law?

No. Only law enforcement officials can access this information.

HANDGUN PURCHASE & POSSESSION IN NEW MEXICO

QUESTION

ANSWER

Is a permit required to purchase a handgun in New Mexico?

No.

Are background checks required for private gun sales in New Mexico?

Yes. As of July 1, 2019, private sales have to be administered by a licensed federal firearms dealer who will run a background check

Does my current New Mexico concealed carry license exempt me from needing a background check when I purchase firearm? 

No.

Is there a waiting period after purchasing a handgun in New Mexico?

No.

Do handguns need to be registered in New Mexico?

No.

What is the minimum age to possess and transport a handgun in New Mexico?

The minimum age is 19.

Can I possess/carry a handgun in my home in New Mexico without a license? 

Yes, and also on real property (the land and everything attached to it) that belongs to you.

NEW MEXICO CONCEALED CARRY LICENSE INFORMATION

Concealed Carry Requirements to Register for a License in New Mexico

An applicant must:

  • Be at least 21 years old
  • Be a citizen of the United States or a Permanent Resident Alien (although not reflected in state statutes, we have been informed by Permanent Resident Aliens that they were able to obtain their New Mexico Concealed Handgun License)
  • Complete a firearms training course (military service person’s discharged from military service within 20 years are exempt)
  • Be a resident of New Mexico or a member of the armed forces whose permanent duty station is located in New Mexico
  • Not be a fugitive from justice
  • Not have been convicted of, or under indictment for, a felony
  • Not have been adjudicated mentally incompetent or committed to a mental institution
  • Not be addicted to alcohol or controlled substances
  • Satisfactorily complete a firearms training course
  • Not have:
    • Received a conditional discharge, a diversion or a deferment, or been convicted of, pled guilty to or entered a plea of nolo contendere to a misdemeanor offense involving a crime of violence within the 10-year period preceding application
    • Been convicted of a misdemeanor offense involving driving while under the influence of intoxicating liquor or drugs within 5 years immediately preceding the application for a concealed handgun license
    • Been convicted within the 10-year period preceding application of a misdemeanor offense involving the possession or abuse of a controlled substance
    • Been convicted of a misdemeanor offense involving assault, battery or battery against a household member

Fees:

  • Initial License $100 ($56 application fee $44 Fingerprint fee)
  • Renewals $75 
  • No charge for members of the military ($8.30 fingerprint fee)

Valid For:

4 years, but license holders must complete a 2-hour refresher firearms training course 2 years after the issuance of an original or renewed license. Licenses for members of the military, LEOs and RLEOs are valid for 5 years.

Processing Time:

30 days.

Applications:

Non-Resident Concealed Carry License:

New Mexico grants non-resident licenses only for members of the military permanently stationed in New Mexico and their dependents. Out-of-state permits can be transferred over to New Mexico licenses.

Name & Address Changes:

You are required to notify the Department of this change within 30 days. Complete the Concealed Handgun License/Replacement Card Application and submit it to:

NM Department of Public Safety 
SID/Concealed Carry Unit
6301 Indian School Rd. NE Suite 310
Albuquerque, NM 87110

Lost or Stolen Licenses:

If a concealed handgun license is lost, stolen or destroyed, the license is invalid and the licensee may obtain a duplicate license by furnishing the department a notarized statement that the original license was lost, stolen or destroyed and paying a reasonable fee. If the license is lost or stolen, the licensee shall file a police report with a local law enforcement agency and include the police case number in the notarized statement. Complete the Concealed Handgun License/Replacement Card Application and submit it within 10 Days to:

NM Department of Public Safety 
SID/Concealed Carry Unit
6301 Indian School Rd. NE Suite 310
Albuquerque, NM 87110

Residency Changes:

If a person with a New Mexico concealed handgun license establishes residency in another state, the license expires upon the establishment of residence in the other state.

NEW MEXICO CONCEALED CARRY LICENSE APPLICATION PROCESS

Step One:

Complete a firearm training course if required.

Step Two:

Submit fingerprints. 

  • The applicant must register with Gemalto Cogent.
  • After registration and payment are complete, the applicant will receive a REG ID.
  • Once the REG ID is provided to the applicant, the applicant may take it and a valid identification to any Gemalto Cogent fingerprint site to complete fingerprinting.

Step Three:

Step Four:

Complete the application and gather the following documents:

  • Certified original copy of your birth certificate issued by vital statistics in the state in which you were born (no photocopies)
  • Copy of certificate of completion of firearms training
  • Copy of New Mexico driver’s license or identification card
  • Release forms and any other supporting documentation.

Step Five:

Send your application and supporting documents to:

NM Department of Public Safety
SID/Concealed Carry Unit
6301 Indian School Road NE, Suite 310
Albuquerque, NM 87110

Step Six:

You will be notified if your application has been approved.

NEW MEXICO CONCEALED CARRY LICENSE RENEWAL PROCESS

Overview:

Renewals cost $75; $31 for the application fee to the DPS and $44 for the background check. There’s no renewal fee for LEOs and RLEOs. Licenses may be renewed 60 days before or 60 days after license expiration.

The renewal process differs depending on the applicant’s status (civilian, active military, retired military, LEO, or RLEO). Consult the guidelines on pages 3 and 4 of the Concealed Carry Unit’s application form to find the right process for you before completing the form on page 5.

Renewals can be mailed to:

Concealed Carry Unit
6301 Indian School Rd. NE,
Suite 310
Albuquerque, NM 871

Concealed Carry for Law Enforcement Officers and Retired LEOs

The federal Law Enforcement Officers Safety Act (LEOSA) allows active and retired law enforcement officers (LEOs and RLEOs) to concealed carry anywhere in the U.S. with some restrictions. New Mexico RLEOs must qualify every year under a concealed carry firearms instructor who is state-approved and will grant them a certifying letter as proof of firearms competency and skill. RLEOs may concealed carry for up to five years, provided they meet every requirement of New Mexico Code Section 10.8.2.31.

Firearms Training & Competency

There are several ways for various applicant types to gain state-approved or other valuable training to enhance their competency. A firearms training course isn’t required for an applicant or licensee who is a certified law enforcement officer under the Law Enforcement Training Act 29-7-1 NMSA 1978.

The certified instructors at Concealed Coalition will teach you the applicable laws for your state and how to carry and fire a firearm safely. Training is available across the U.S. and online, so contact us to sign up or ask any questions.

NRA Training

The NRA offers a wide range of firearms training at many locations nationwide. Use the local training locator to find specific lessons near you. This is an optional training avenue that can increase your general skill and confidence.

Hunter Safety Courses

New Mexico’s Department of Game and Fish provides a hunter education program to further increase your firearms skills and ability to stay safe.

Firearms Safety Courses From Other Providers

Instructors may choose to give classes at public and private institutions, individuals, colleges, or law enforcement agencies. Always run the names of any instructors through New Mexico’s approved instructor list to be sure you’re receiving valid training.

A Firearms Training Course With a State-Certified Instructor

Concealed Coalition offers firearm training to help you gain valuable skills toward securing a concealed carry license. Our highly trained instructors provide actionable lessons based on their extensive practical experience to ensure you gain tested and reliable skills.

DD Form 214 or Military Orders for Active or Former Military Members

Active-duty military members may submit a copy of their military ID or PCS orders, which will exempt them from further firearms training. Retired military and veterans may submit their DD 214 as proof of honorable discharge to avoid the training requirement.

A New Mexico State-Approved Instructor

Instructors in the DPS database distribute training certificates recognized by the state as proof of firearms competency. This is the only form of training recognized as sufficient for civilians to concealed carry.

Get Certified for a New Mexico Concealed Carry Permit Today

Our network of firearms professionals are holding training classes and in-person certification courses throughout New Mexico. Use our certification locator to enroll in an upcoming firearms training course near you today, or visit our New Mexico concealed carry permitting resource for online certification.

Get Certified for a New Mexico Concealed Carry Permit with Concealed Coalition
Get Certified Today