ATTENTION GUN OWNERS & FUTURE GUN OWNERS: GET CONCEALED CARRY CERTIFIED BEFORE IT'S TOO LATE

Ohio Concealed Carry Reciprocity Map & Gun Laws

Everything you need to know about owning a firearm in the state of Ohio

Ohio State Seal

Ohio Reciprocity Map

Last Updated: 2021

Ohio Concealed Carry Reciprocity Overview

11.7M

STATE POPULATION

710K

LICENSES ISSUED

6.07%

LICENSE PERCENTAGE

49

STATES HONORED

21

MINIMUM AGE TO CC

5

YEARS LICENSE VALID

38

RECIPROCATING STATES

NO

CONSTITUTIONAL CARRY

4

CC CERTIFIED INSTRUCTORS

It’s imperative for any responsible gun owner to be fully aware of your gun rights and state laws. Understanding how those gun laws translate across state lines is equally important.

Ohio is home to 11.7 million people, with just over 6% of the population licensed for concealed carry (CC). This equates to around 710,000 authorized carriers. The minimum age to CC in Ohio is 21, and the license is valid for five years.

If you are interested in obtaining your concealed carry permit, you need an education partner you can trust. Concealed Coalition has trained over a million U.S. citizens on how to carry their weapons safely and effectively. Contact us to find online or local training to get your CC license.

Ohio Concealed Carry Class with State Certified Instructor

Summary of Ohio Gun Laws

Your Ohio Gun Rights

Applicants must meet Ohio’s standards for firearm ownership, which is a shall-issue state. Meeting all the requirements will result in the state issuing a firearms permit, but the requirements for the two carry types (open and concealed) differ. There is no permit, background check, or registration necessary if buying a firearm from a private individual.

Each state has its own take on gun laws, and that can make it challenging to keep those for your home area straight. Ohio has reciprocity agreements with 38 states, for example, while acknowledging some state-specific exceptions. Here’s a summary of existing laws:

Open Carry in Ohio

No permit is necessary to open carry in Ohio. State statutes do not define a minimum age to open carry, meaning individuals should adhere to the federally mandated minimum age to possess a firearm with a valid permit, which is 18 years old.

Concealed Carry in Ohio

CC licenses are distributed to qualifying individuals 21 years and older by their local sheriff’s office. You can find your local sheriff by using the state’s law enforcement locator. The two qualifications for standard citizens wishing to CC are meeting Ohio’s shall-issue criteria and undertaking eight hours of firearms training. Active or former service members are exempt from this training.

Self Defense Laws in Ohio

A CC license is a powerful way to protect yourself and others. It is crucial to know where the line is when it comes to self-defense under the law to avoid excessive action.

Use of Force

Ohio law Section 2901.05 states that individuals may use force in self-defense, in defense of others, or when defending their residence. The burden of proof is with the prosecution to demonstrate beyond a reasonable doubt that the defender did not act through a genuine perception of impending harm.

Use of Deadly Force

Any use of force intended or likely to cause death or great bodily harm is permitted for someone defending themselves or another party. The aggressor must be in the process of illegally entering the residence or vehicle of the defender.

Protecting Yourself After Use of Force

Your legal position after the use of force depends on how authorities view the act. Acting with a reasonable belief against imminent harm from an immediate threat may be viewed as justified if the use of force did not persist after the danger had ended. Ohio doesn’t consider the use of deadly force justifiable if the defender has used that force against someone who had a right to be in that particular residence or vehicle, or if the defender is present in either location with no right to be there.

Firearms training is an excellent way to gain the skills necessary to gauge threat levels. Concealed Coalition has trained over a million people to become responsible, certified gun owners. Classes are available locally and online.

Ohio Gun Laws by Statute

Concealed Coalition is dedicated to dispelling the myths surrounding gun ownership and promoting a culture of understanding, responsibility, and confidence. Our certified instructors are qualified across multiple states, and our online or local training classes provide convenient learning environments run by instructors who care.

Contact us today at (614) 245-2551 or email to discuss your concealed carry permit educational needs.

It is vitally important for all Ohio firearms owners to remember that firearms laws can and do change. As a result, legislators or law enforcement agencies may alter any regulations listed below at any time. Current and prospective CC licensees should regularly visit the attorney general’s website for the latest information.

Quick Links

CONCEALED CARRY BASICS IN OHIO

QUESTION

ANSWER

Does Ohio recognize constitutional carry?

No.

Is open carry permitted in Ohio?

Yes, Ohio is an open carry state, meaning gun owners who legally possess a firearm can openly carry without a concealed carry permit.

If Ohio requires a license to carry a concealed firearm, how are those licenses issued?

Ohio is a shall-issue state with concealed carry permits being issued at the county level by a county sheriff. 

What is the minimum age in Ohio to get a concealed carry license?

21 years old. 

Can you concealed carry weapons other than handguns in Ohio with a concealed carry license (or under permit-less carry if applicable)?

No. Ohio does not allow the concealed carry of firearms other than handguns. 

Is it legal to own a taser or stun gun in Ohio?

Ohio does not directly regular stun guns or tasers. But you may carry and use one of these for purposes of self-defense.

Is it legal to buy or use chemical spray/pepper spray in Ohio?

Ohio has no laws that prohibit individuals from carrying or using pepper spray.

Does Ohio have magazine capacity restrictions for handguns?

The maximum legal capacity is 30 rounds.  

Does Ohio have ammunition restrictions?

No.

CONCEALED CARRY LOCATIONS IN OHIO

QUESTION

ANSWER

Where can't I carry a concealed firearm in Ohio?

Yes. Ohio law prohibits carrying a concealed weapon in the following places:

  • Sheriff’s offices, police stations, and highway patrol posts
  • Correctional or other detention facilities
  • Courthouses or buildings that contain courts
  • Universities (unless permitted) and any zone, activity, or vehicle related to a school
  • Airport terminals or other airport restricted areas
  • Premises controlled by the Ohio Bureau of Criminal Investigation
  • Places of worship (unless permitted)
  • Mental health facilities
  • Government facilities (unless permitted)

CC licensees may have a concealed weapon in a school safety zone if it is locked in their vehicle. Always consult with your destination before arriving to ensure compliance with their CC rules.

Where can I carry a concealed firearm in Ohio?

Licensed individuals may reasonably assume they can CC in any location that does not meet the criteria above, provided they adhere to local and site-specific regulations and rules of conduct governing firearms. Check with local law enforcement to be absolutely sure of your CC limitations.

Can you carry a concealed handgun in a vehicle in Ohio?

Open carry is legal in Ohio with the exception of carrying in a vehicle. 

Can you carry a concealed firearm at roadside rest areas in Ohio?

Yes, gun owners with a legal concealed carry permit can carry a handgun at a roadside rest area in Ohio. 

Can you carry a concealed firearm in state/national parks, state/national forest and Wildlife Management Areas in Ohio?

Yes, Federal law allows the carry of concealed firearms in state and national parks. 

Can you carry a concealed firearm in bars and restaurants that serve alcohol in Ohio?

A CC license holder may carry a concealed handgun into a bar, restaurant or other places where alcohol is sold for consumption on the premises as long as the license holder has not already consumed alcohol and does not consume alcohol on the premises. This only applies in establishments that allow firearms on the premises.

Can you carry or possess a firearm on hotel property in Ohio?

Some premises allow CC weapons to be checked in and stored, while others do not allow any firearms. Check with the hotel to clarify their position in advance before entering the premises.

Does Ohio have laws relating to storing firearms in private vehicles in an employee parking lot?

CC license holders may transport and store their firearm inside their privately owned vehicle under the two provisions of Section 2923.1210

IMPORTANT GUNS LAWS IN OHIO

QUESTION

ANSWER

Do you have a duty to notify a police officer that you're carrying a concealed firearm in Ohio?

Any individual carrying a concealed handgun as a CC licensee must immediately inform the law enforcement officer who stopped them whether or not the license is in their vehicle. Hands must be kept in plain sight at all times if stopped in a vehicle.

Are "No Weapons Allowed? signs enforced in Ohio? If, yes, violating the sign would be considered to be a crime. If, no, violating the sign would not be considered a criminal offense.

Yes. Signs are enforced wherever present on private property and state premises. Signs must be conspicuous, as per this example

Does Ohio have preemption laws related to concealed carry (i.e., Does state law supersede local laws regarding the possession of handguns)?

Yes, under Section 9.68. The discharge of firearms may be regulated at the municipal level in some locations.

Does Ohio have a red flag law?

No.

Does Ohio state law define brandishing?

No, but instances of aggravated menace are clearly defined under Section 2903.21.

Does Ohio have laws regarding carrying a concealed firearm while using alcohol or chemical substances?

No one may be consuming or under the influence of alcohol or drugs while carrying a firearm under Section 2923.121.

Does Ohio issue concealed carry licenses to non-residents?

Nonresidents may apply if they are employed in Ohio and meet the state’s shall-issue requirements. 

Does Ohio allow the public to access concealed carry registry information through public records law?

No.

HANDGUN PURCHASE & POSSESSION IN OHIO

QUESTION

ANSWER

Is a permit required to purchase a handgun in Ohio?

No state permit or license is required to purchase a handgun, rifle, or shotgun. 

Are background checks required for private gun sales in Ohio?

Ohio does not require a waiting period prior to purchasing a gun and only requires background checks for guns purchased from federally licensed dealers.

Does my current Ohio concealed carry license exempt me from needing a background check when I purchase firearm? 

Ohio is one of 25 states in which gun owners no longer will have to submit to additional background checks for gun purchases.

Is there a waiting period after purchasing a handgun in Ohio?

Ohio does not require a waiting period to purchase a handgun. 

Do handguns need to be registered in Ohio?

No, there is no firearms registration required when purchasing a handgun from a private seller. 

What is the minimum age to possess and transport a handgun in Ohio?

18 years old.

Can I possess/carry a handgun in my home in Ohio without a license? 

Yes.

OHIO CONCEALED CARRY LICENSE INFORMATION

Concealed Carry Requirements to Register for a License in Ohio

An applicant must:

  • Be at least 21 years old;
  • Be an Ohio resident for at least 45 days and a resident of the county in which you are applying, or the adjacent county, for at least 30 days;
  • Be employed in Ohio If you live in another state;
  • Be legally living in the United States;
  • Have completed an approved firearms training class (training is waived for active duty military and retired and honorably discharged veterans with proof of military firearms experience);
  • Certify that you have read the firearms safety pamphlet prepared by the Ohio Peace Officer Training Commission 
    Not have had a suspended concealed carry license from another state;
  • Not be a fugitive from justice;
  • Not be under indictment for, and has not been charged with, convicted of or pled guilty to, a felony;
  • Not have been convicted of, pleaded guilty to or adjudicated a delinquent child for domestic violence;
  • Not be under indictment, be charged with or convicted of any felony, trafficking in drugs, any other drug-related crime, a misdemeanor offense of violence, negligent assault or assaulting a peace officer;
  • Not, within 3 years prior to your application, have been convicted, pleaded guilty to, or been adjudicated as delinquent in connection with a misdemeanor offense of violence;
  • Not have been charged with falsification of a concealed handgun license;
  • Not be subject to a civil protection order or a temporary protection order of an Ohio court or a similar protection order issued by another state;
  • Not have been convicted, pleaded guilty to or been adjudicated as delinquent in connection with two or more assaults or negligent assaults within 5 years of application;
  • Not have been convicted, pleaded guilty to or adjudicated as delinquent in connection with resisting arrest within 10 years of application;
  • Meet federal law requirements.

Fees:

Initial License fee for more than 5 years is $67 — Renewals are $50
Initial License fee for less than 5 years is $77 — Renewals are $60 

Fees are waived for current and honorably discharged veterans.

Valid For:

5 years

Processing Time:

45 days

Applications:

Download and complete the following application.

Non-Resident Concealed Carry License:

Granted only for non-residents who are employed in Ohio. The process is the same as for residents.

 

Name & Address Changes:

Ohio law requires you to notify the county sheriff’s office at which you obtained your concealed carry license within 45 days after a change of address. This process, required by law, modifies the record held by our agency in the event you need to be contacted regarding suspension, revocation, or administrative purpose. If you wish to obtain a CCW license with your new address and/or name change you may do so by scheduling an appointment. Some counties have a change of address form, but that varies. A $15 fee is required.

Lost or Stolen Licenses:

Your county sheriff must be notified within 45 days that your license has been lost or stolen. He or she will also require a police report that states you have reported your license stolen or missing. The replacement fee is $15.

Residency Changes:

Ohio issues licenses to residents and only non-residents who are employed in Ohio. You can apply for your license to a county sheriff once you have been an Ohio resident for at least 45 days or, if you live in another state, once employed in Ohio. An Ohio resident carrying the license of another state without a reciprocity agreement must obtain an Ohio license within 6 months of becoming an Ohio resident. An Ohio resident may carry a concealed handgun under the license of another state within Ohio as long as there is a valid reciprocity agreement with that state. If an Ohio resident moves out of state and changes their address, their concealed carry permit will no longer be active in Ohio. 

OHIO CONCEALED CARRY LICENSE APPLICATION PROCESS

IN-PERSON

Step One:

Step Two:

Download and complete the application.

Step Three:

Make an appointment with your county sheriff’s office (or the office of an adjoining county) and take the following documents:

  • Completed application form;
    Copies of firearms training certificate; and
    Passport-style color photo, taken within last 30 days.
  • Attest that you have read the Attorney General’s pamphlet on Ohio’s concealed carry laws.

Your fingerprints will be taken.
Pay the fee.

Step Four:

You will be notified by mail within 45 days if your application has been approved.

ONLINE

Step One:

Step Two:

Follow our step-by-step online application process.

OHIO CONCEALED CARRY LICENSE RENEWAL PROCESS

Step One:

The process begins by downloading the license renewal form. Licenses may be renewed at any time. Out-of-state applicants must renew with the sheriff who issued their previous license. You may not renew your license after it expires if you are no longer employed in Ohio.

Applicants must file renewals with the local sheriff’s office with certification that they have read and understood this publication. Applicants can submit a current or expired Ohio CC license or a competency certificate from an instructor with their renewal form.

Step Two:

Take the following documents to a county sheriff’s office:

  • Completed, but unsigned, application form (you will sign it there in the presence of the Sheriff’s Office Notary);
  • You must have your fingerprints electronically scanned through the WebCheck system, or a 10 print fingerprint card if WebCheck is unavailable;
  • A valid picture identification card (driver’s license, state identification card, retired law enforcement or corrections identification card or military identification card only).

Attest that you have read the Attorney General’s pamphlet on Ohio’s concealed carry laws.
Pay the fee.

Step Three:

You will be notified by mail within 45 days if your application has been approved.

Concealed Carry for Law Enforcement Officers and Retired LEOs

The federal Law Enforcement Officers’ Safety Act (LEOSA) allows active and retired law enforcement officers (LEOs) to CC, but there are parameters. They are still subject to the rule of private property, for example, and are forbidden to CC on a plane. State- or government-owned properties may also exercise prohibitions. Here’s what to know:

  • Active LEOs will be trained to the firearms standards of the state and their current department of service, which makes them eligible to LEOSA carry.
  • Retired LEOs can qualify and retake training regularly from their previously served law enforcement department.
  • Nonresident LEOs and RLEOs can submit a LEOSA application, but, like all resident officers, they must qualify under an instructor approved by the Ohio Peace Officer Training Commission (OPOTC), which can be located via the attorney general’s office.
  • Important note: Ohio does not issue LEOSA ID cards, but local sheriff’s offices and police departments may choose to do so. This means the only proof of firearms qualification that LEOSA carriers can present is their score sheet from an Ohio Peace Officer Training instructor. Retired peace officers must also possess a retired peace officer ID card.

LEOSA carry laws are subject to updates and changes, like any other firearms regulations. It is recommended for LEOs and RLEOs to check with their local law enforcement division for current CC guidelines and application procedures.

Firearms Training & Competency

The certified instructors at Concealed Coalition will teach you the applicable laws for your state and how to carry and fire a firearm safely. Training is available across the U.S. and online, so contact us with any questions or to sign up.

Proper firearms training is essential for any individual with the right to carry a gun, especially those who do not receive training as part of their employment. Ohio citizens (except active or former service members) require eight hours of training and can pursue this via the following avenues:

NRA Training

The National Rifle Association offers several types of training at a wide range of locations. Use the NRA’s local training locator to find classes near you and specific lessons.

Hunter Safety Courses

The Ohio Department of Natural Resources offers a hunter training course that covers firearms competency. Classes are available online or in person. Also acceptable is any training course from a state, county, municipal, or Ohio Department of Natural Resources (ODNR) peace officer school approved by the executive director of OPOTC.

Firearms Safety Courses From Other Providers

Public and private institutions, colleges, or law enforcement agencies often provide firearms training. It is highly recommended to contact your local law enforcement office as a first step to ensure your selected training will be sufficient for CC.

A Firearms Training Course With a State-Certified Instructor

Concealed Coalition offers firearm training to help you gain a CC license. Our highly specialized instructors provide actionable lessons based on their extensive practical experience to ensure you gain tested and reliable skills.

DD Form 214 or Military Orders for Active or Former Military Members

The military issues document DD 214 when a service member performs active duty or has completed at least 90 consecutive days of active-duty training. This can count toward proof of firearms competency. Ohio veterans can locate their DD 214 through the DVS. Active members do not require a CC license if they can provide a military ID card and proof of firearms training that meets or exceeds Ohio standards.

Other Acceptable Qualifications

The complete list of acceptable firearms training is available on pages one and two of the attorney general’s CC application guide.

 

Get Certified for a Ohio Concealed Carry Permit Today

Our network of firearms professionals are holding training classes and in-person certification courses throughout Ohio. Use our certification locator to enroll in an upcoming firearms training course near you today, or visit our Ohio concealed carry permitting resource for online certification.

Concealed Coalition Concealed Carry Training Course
Get Certified Today