ATTENTION GUN OWNERS & FUTURE GUN OWNERS: GET CONCEALED CARRY CERTIFIED BEFORE IT'S TOO LATE

New Hampshire Concealed Carry Reciprocity Map & Gun Laws

Prepare for Your Concealed Carry Permit and Learn the Gun Laws and Regulations of New Hampshire.

New Hampshire State Seal

New Hampshire Reciprocity Map

New Hampshire Concealed Carry Reciprocity Overview

1.4M

STATE POPULATION

24K

LICENSES ISSUED

1.7%

LICENSE PERCENTAGE

50

STATES HONORED

18

MINIMUM AGE TO CC

5

YEARS LICENSE VALID

29

RECIPROCATING STATES

YES

CONSTITUTIONAL CARRY

TBA

CC CERTIFIED INSTRUCTORS

Responsible Conceal Carry in New Hampshire

Full awareness of your gun rights and the state laws is the first step in becoming a responsible gun owner. Understanding how those gun laws translate across state lines is equally significant. 

New Hampshire has a state population of 1.4 million, with 1.7% of the population licensed for concealed carry. This comes out to about 23,800 authorized carriers. The minimum age to CC in New Hampshire is 18, and the license is valid for five years. 

Obtaining a concealed carry permit starts with finding an education partner you can trust. Concealed Coalition has trained over a million U.S. citizens on how to carry their weapons safely and effectively. Contact us to find online or local training to get your CC license.

Summary of New Hampshire Gun Laws

Your New Hampshire Gun Rights

New Hampshire is a shall-issue, permitless carry state. Residents apply to the local law enforcement office and non-residents to the State Department of Justice.

“Shall issue” means that any individual that meets the basic requirements set by state law may be issued a permit by the issuing authority. “Permitless carry” includes constitutional carry states as well as states where an individual must meet certain qualifications to legally carry. 

There is no permit, background check, or firearms registration required to buy a handgun from a private individual. In terms of reciprocity, since New Hampshire has permitless carry, any person 18 years of age and older that can legally possess a firearm may carry a concealed firearm without a license or permit.

Here is a summary of existing laws:

Open Carry in New Hampshire

This is legal in New Hampshire without a license for anyone at least 18 years of age who can legally possess a firearm. 

Concealed Carry in New Hampshire

The same rules apply to CC as to open carry, with anyone at least 18 years of age being able to carry a concealed firearm without a license or permit. 

Self Defense Laws in New Hampshire

New Hampshire is a Castle Doctrine state and has a “stand your ground” law. A person who is lawfully in a place or location and who is threatened with bodily injury or loss of life has no duty to retreat from a threat before using force.

Use of Force

Use of force is justified if an individual controls premises or are an individual who is licensed or privileged to be there, and under the reasonable belief that it will prevent or terminate criminal trespassing. Use of force is allowed in self-defense or defense of others if under the reasonable belief that it will prevent an aggressor’s imminent use of unlawful force.

Use of Force Deadly Force

This is permitted only when under the belief that it will protect themselves or others from death, great bodily harm, or to prevent an attempt by the trespasser to commit arson on-premises. 

Protecting Yourself After Use of Force

Your legal position after the use of force depends on how authorities view the act. Justifiable use of force in self-protection, protection of others, protection of premises and property, or in law enforcement or the care of a minor pursuant, renders the individual immune from civil liability. New Hampshire doesn’t find a use of force justified if the defender can retreat or surrender property safely, or if the defender used that force against someone who had a right to be on that particular property or vehicle. 

Firearms training is an excellent way to gain the skills necessary to accurately and responsibly gauge threat levels. Concealed Coalition has trained over a million people to become reliable, certified gun owners. Classes are available locally and online.

New Hampshire Gun Laws by Statute

It’s essential for New Hampshire firearm owners to remember that the following laws are subject to change without notice. The attorney general’s website has all the latest information and should be visited regularly by licensees.

Concealed Coalition is dedicated to dispelling the myths surrounding gun ownership and promoting a culture of understanding and responsibility. Our certified instructors are qualified across multiple states, and our online or local training classes provide convenient learning with instructors who care.

Contact us today at (603) 325-4584 or email to discuss your concealed carry permit educational needs.

Quick Links

CONCEALED CARRY BASICS IN NEW HAMPSHIRE

QUESTION

ANSWER

What States Have Reciprocity with New Hampshire?

The states that have reciprocity with New Hampshire include:

Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming, and Puerto Rico.

Which States’ Permits Does New Hampshire Honor?

The states that honor permits from New Hampshire include:

Alabama, Arkansas, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Mississippi, Montana, North Carolina, South Dakota, and Vermont.

Does New Hampshire recognize constitutional carry?

Yes, New Hampshire allows constitutional carry. This is also known as permitless carry.

Is open carry permitted in New Hampshire?

Yes, without a license. Any individual who is at least 18 years old and legally entitled to possess a firearm may open carry.

If New Hampshire requires a license to carry a concealed firearm, how are those licenses issued?

New Hampshire is a shall-issue/permitless carry state. 

What is the minimum age in New Hampshire to get a concealed carry license?

There is no minimum age to carry a firearm. However, the federal minimum age is 18 years old. 

Can you concealed carry weapons other than handguns in New Hampshire with a concealed carry license (or under permit-less carry if applicable)?

No. A concealed carry license does not permit you to carry weapons other than handguns in New Hampshire.

Is it legal to own a taser or stun gun in New Hampshire?

Stun guns and tasers are legal to purchase and possess without a license for anyone at least 18 years old with no felony convictions.

Is it legal to buy or use chemical spray/pepper spray in New Hampshire?

There are no laws that prohibit the purchase or use of pepper spray in New Hampshire.

Does New Hampshire have magazine capacity restrictions for handguns?

No. New Hampshire does not have magazine capacity restrictions.

Does New Hampshire have ammunition restrictions?

Yes. New Hampshire law prohibits any person from attempting to use or using, in the course of committing any misdemeanor or felony, any Teflon-coated or armor-piercing bullet or cartridge or any bullet or cartridge that contains an explosive substance in the projectile and is designed to explode upon impact.

CONCEALED CARRY LOCATIONS IN NEW HAMPSHIRE

QUESTION

ANSWER

Can you carry a concealed handgun in a vehicle in New Hampshire?

Yes, without a license for anyone not otherwise prohibited by statute from possessing a firearm.

Can you carry a concealed firearm at roadside rest areas in New Hampshire?

New Hampshire allows concealed carry of firearms at roadside rest areas.

Can you carry a concealed firearm in state/national parks, state/national forest and Wildlife Management Areas in New Hampshire?

Yes. Concealed carry is allowed in state/national parks, state/national forests, and Wildlife Management Areas in New Hampshire.

Can you carry a concealed firearm in bars and restaurants that serve alcohol in New Hampshire?

Yes, there is no statute making it illegal to concealed carry in bars or restaurants, unless posted.

Can you carry or possess a firearm on hotel property in New Hampshire?

New Hampshire statutes don’t specifically address firearms at hotels. However, each hotel develops its policies. Check with the individual hotel and inquire about its concealed carry policy before entering the premises.

Does New Hampshire have laws relating to storing firearms in private vehicles in an employee parking lot?

This isn’t addressed in New Hampshire state law. Yet, employers may have their own policy. 

IMPORTANT GUNS LAWS IN NEW HAMPSHIRE

QUESTION

ANSWER

Do you have a duty to notify a police officer that you're carrying a concealed firearm in New Hampshire?

There is no duty to inform a law enforcement officer that you’re carrying a concealed firearm in New Hampshire.

Is my New Hampshire driver’s license linked to my New Hampshire carry license?

No. Your New Hampshire driver’s license is not linked to your New Hampshire concealed carry license. Therefore, a law enforcement officer will not be notified that you are a concealed carry license holder immediately when they run your driver’s license. 

Are "No Weapons Allowed? signs enforced in New Hampshire? If, yes, violating the sign would be considered to be a crime. If, no, violating the sign would not be considered a criminal offense.

No. “No Weapons Allowed” signs are not enforced in New Hampshire. 

Does New Hampshire have preemption laws related to concealed carry (i.e., Does state law supersede local laws regarding the possession of handguns)?

Yes. New Hampshire has preemption of firearms laws.

Does New Hampshire have a red flag law?

No. New Hampshire does not have a red flag law.

Does New Hampshire state law define brandishing?

New Hampshire does not explicitly outline the definition of brandishing. However, a person is guilty of reckless conduct if he recklessly engages in conduct that places or may place another in danger of serious bodily injury. A person is guilty of criminal threatening when by physical conduct, the person places or attempts to place another in fear of imminent bodily injury or physical contact. As of September 21, 2021, the act of displaying a firearm does not count as reckless conduct “in and of itself and without additional circumstances.” 

Does New Hampshire have laws regarding carrying a concealed firearm while using alcohol or chemical substances?

This isn’t addressed in state statutes. Regardless of the laws in your state, it is unwise to carry while under the influence of any substance that could impair your judgment, slow your reaction times, or impact your decision-making abilities. Any decision you make while carrying a firearm could have life-altering consequences. 

Does New Hampshire issue concealed carry licenses to non-residents?

Yes. The process is the same as for residents.

Does New Hampshire allow the public to access concealed carry registry information through public records law?

No. Concealed carry registry information is available only for law enforcement.

HANDGUN PURCHASE & POSSESSION IN NEW HAMPSHIRE

QUESTION

ANSWER

Is a permit required to purchase a handgun in New Hampshire?

No. A permit is not required to purchase a handgun in New Hampshire.

Are background checks required for private gun sales in New Hampshire?

No. Private firearms transfers are not subject to a background check requirement, although federal and state purchaser prohibitions, including age restrictions, still apply. You should retain any sales receipts to prove ownership of the gun.

Does my current New Hampshire concealed carry license exempt me from needing a background check when I purchase firearm? 

No. 

Is there a waiting period after purchasing a handgun in New Hampshire?

There is not a waiting period after purchasing a handgun in New Hampshire.

Do handguns need to be registered in Nebraska?

Handguns do not need to be registered in New Hampshire.

What is the minimum age to possess and transport a handgun in New Hampshire?

The minimum age to possess and transport a handgun in New Hampshire is 18 years old.

Can I possess/carry a handgun in my home in New Hampshire without a license? 

Yes. Permitless carry is allowed in New Hampshire for anyone legally entitled to carry a firearm.

NEW HAMPSHIRE CONCEALED CARRY LICENSE INFORMATION

Concealed Carry Requirements to Register for a License in New Hampshire

An applicant must:

  • Be at least 18 years old;
  • Give the names and addresses of three references;
  • Provide his or her driver’s license number; 
  • Meet federal law requirements

Fees:

The initial license & renewal fee is $10 for residents. For non-residents, the initial license & renewal fee is $100.

Valid For:

A New Hampshire Concealed Carry License is valid for up to 5 years.

Processing Time:

The processing time for a concealed carry license is 14 days.

Applications:

Download and complete the following application.

Non-Resident Concealed Carry License:

Non-residents can complete the non-resident application and mail it to the NH State Police:

NH State Police
Permits and License Unit
33 Hazen Drive
Concord, NH 03305

Name & Address Changes:

New Hampshire law requires that you forward a letter to NH State Police notifying them of the change of address, including the old and new addresses. To receive a license that reflects the new address, enclose a fee of $3.00 and send it to:

NH State Police
Permits and License Unit
33 Hazen Drive
Concord, NH 03305

Lost or Stolen Licenses:

You must write a letter explaining the reason for your request, and include a duplicate license fee of $3.00. Send it to the above address.

Residency Changes:

New Hampshire issues resident and non-resident licenses, so you can apply for your license at any time. To apply for a resident license, you may need to provide a New Hampshire driver’s license or state ID, or an out-of-state Driver’s License, along with a current utility bill at your NH residence or a signed rent/lease agreement. If a person with a New Hampshire Pistol/Revolver License establishes residency in another state, their concealed carry license is valid until it expires provided you submit the above-referenced Name/Address change form.

NEW HAMPSHIRE CONCEALED CARRY LICENSE APPLICATION PROCESS

Step One:

Download the resident application or non-resident application.

Step Two:

Take the completed application to your local law enforcement office (may be Town Selectman, Mayor, Chief of Police or County Sheriff) or the State Police if a non-resident. You will need the names of three persons for references.

Non-resident applications should be mailed to:

NH State Police
Permits and License Unit
33 Hazen Drive
Concord, NH 03305

Step Three:

You will be notified within 14 days whether your application has been approved or denied.

NEW HAMPSHIRE CONCEALED CARRY LICENSE RENEWAL PROCESS

Step One:

Renewals are the responsibility of the licensee. Handgun license renewals must be submitted 30 days prior to the expiration date of the license.

Step Two:

Download the resident application or non-resident application.

Step Three:

Take the completed application to your local law enforcement office or the State Police if a non-resident. You will need the names of three persons for references.

Non-resident applications should be mailed to:

NH State Police
Permits and License Unit
33 Hazen Drive
Concord, NH 03305

Step Four:

You will be notified within 14 days whether your application has been approved or denied.

Get Certified for a New Hampshire Concealed Carry Permit Today

Our network of firearms professionals are holding training classes and in-person certification courses throughout New Hampshire. Use our certification locator to enroll in an upcoming firearms training course near you today, or visit our New Hampshire concealed carry permitting resource for online certification.

Get Certified for a New Hampshire Concealed Carry Permit with Concealed Coalition

Did we miss something?

If you have any questions that you don’t see answered here — let us know! Just email info@concealedcoalition.com and we will be sure to get your question resolved. Your feedback matters to us, and we appreciate you helping to make this page the best possible resource for responsible gun owners! The information contained on this website is provided by Concealed Coalition as a service to its members and the public. The information on this page does not constitute legal advice. Our goal is to provide thorough, up-to-date information regarding concealed carry laws, reciprocity, and requirements. We make no claims, representations, warranties, promises or guarantees as to the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information disclosed. At the time of publishing the information contained in this page was correct and up-to-date. However, laws are constantly changing, and as a result, nothing contained on this website should be considered legal advice. Please consult a lawyer should you require legal advice regarding concealed carry and gun laws in your state. Did you know our membership includes a Pre-paid legal protection plan? Sign up today and gain access to 24/7 coverage from a team of legal experts?

Get Certified Today